Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2011, 03:22 PM
littlegreenmen13 littlegreenmen13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 32
Default Digi 002 Control Surface as Just an Audio Interface

I currently own a Digi 002 control surface and am thinking about purchasing a Digidesign C|24. I know the C|24 would work well with either the 002 Rack or 003 Rack, but I was wondering if there was a way to use my 002 surface as just an audio interface. In other words, could I use the 002 surface like a 002/003 rack, just audio I/O, and do all of the control surface stuff with the C|24? Any advice is much appreciated. Thank you and have a great day/night.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2011, 09:49 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: Digi 002 Control Surface as Just an Audio Interface

It will work fine, but the first 8 tracks will be stuck on the 002 faders. Better to trade the controller for a rack(either 002 or 003). Or if you have PT9, then there are several 3rd party interfaces that would be fine.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2011, 05:17 AM
littlegreenmen13 littlegreenmen13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 32
Default Re: Digi 002 Control Surface as Just an Audio Interface

That's what I was afraid of. I didn't know if there was a way to disengage the control aspect of the 002. I know if you use something like the Avid MC Mixes you can tell Pro Tools which surface(s) to use. I didn't know if there was something similar that could be done with the 002. Thanks for the response.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2011, 07:07 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Digi 002 Control Surface as Just an Audio Interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlegreenmen13 View Post
That's what I was afraid of. I didn't know if there was a way to disengage the control aspect of the 002. I know if you use something like the Avid MC Mixes you can tell Pro Tools which surface(s) to use. I didn't know if there was something similar that could be done with the 002. Thanks for the response.
Its a shame both interfacces are discontinued. Having a check box in the Prefs called "USE 002/003 Control Surface" in the prefs that you could check or un check when using more than one control surface. Since the C|24 is still in production maybe they could modify the driver to add a "Ignore Other Control Surfaces" option. Ultimately AllBee1952 has the best solution. Sell the 002 and buy a 002R/003 or 3rd party interface.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2011, 02:27 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Digi 002 Control Surface as Just an Audio Interface

I have to ask. Why in the world are you going to continue to use a 002 after investing in a Control 24? Used they are going for 2500+, and your going to use a 250.00 I/O.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2011, 04:53 AM
littlegreenmen13 littlegreenmen13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 32
Default Re: Digi 002 Control Surface as Just an Audio Interface

Hi Barry,

I completely agree. This is not my endgame. The C24 is for my personal project studio. Eventually I will be upgrading to Pro Tools Native, but can't afford to purchase the C24, Native, and a high end I/O all at once. The 002 is just a stop gap solution until I can afford the Native and I/O. I would prefer to use the 002 since I already have it rather than purchase a 003 rack or some other 3rd party I/O only to turn around in the near future and buy the Native and higher end I/O. I hope that answers your question. Have a great day.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 control surface (As audio) & control 24 as surface crizdee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 7 01-04-2016 12:30 PM
002 as control surface with seperate interface in PT9 alxt Pro Tools 9 9 11-30-2010 11:39 PM
Will LE users ever get HEAT or a NEW INTERFACE/CONTROL SURFACE??? windsongstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 08-23-2010 06:27 AM
Digi 003 Control Surface Mackie Control Mode ctmusicman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-23-2008 07:23 PM
Control surface - MIDI interface Freakybeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-25-2004 04:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com