Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-03-2010, 04:36 PM
Enrico Donner Enrico Donner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 201
Default Re: Magma PE6R4-I or PE6R4 EM

Big problems here...

It looks like randomly, the computer recognizes or not the chassis.
Sometimes it won't start for hours...

Then the next day it will start immediately.

I'm getting insane, tried swapping things around... no luck...

So i'm stuck with a $2,200 investment... (just to avoid the crazy PCI-X to PCIe upgrade price...)

http://expansionsystem.com/group/pro...i-and-protools
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:31 PM
frankdfagnano frankdfagnano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NY Metro Area
Posts: 1
Exclamation Re: Magma PE6R4-I or PE6R4 EM

This is my issue. — I need to move away from my G5 Now, while I have a break between projects and others are wrapped up. I want to keep my HD4 PCI cards and go to a 12-Core, but Digi hasn't qualified the Magma PE6R4. Since the 12-Core replaced the faster 8-Core, now only the 2.4GHz is available. So that's what the option is if the 12-Core isn't qualified soon...

Hey Digi, I've been a customer since before "Sound Tools", and we are a pretty loyal customer base.
So... a Little Help Please?!


Best to you all!
Make Great Sounds!
f

PS: My first post! — Thanx.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-05-2010, 05:23 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: Magma PE6R4-I or PE6R4 EM

Buy a used or refurbed Harpertown or Nehalem 8-Core, they work great with the Magma Chassis, and should be noticeably cheaper than the new 12-Cores
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:30 AM
drBill drBill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 348
Default Re: Magma PE6R4-I or PE6R4 EM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
Buy a used or refurbed Harpertown or Nehalem 8-Core, they work great with the Magma Chassis, and should be noticeably cheaper than the new 12-Cores
That's what I did last week - Nehalem & Chassis. Unfortunately, the computer was not really any cheaper, but I've got peace of mind that the chassis's have been working great for over a year on the Nehelam's.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-04-2016, 02:24 AM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: grooveland
Posts: 315
Default Re: Magma PE6R4-I or PE6R4 EM

hi all,

as i read pro tools hd tdm can hold 7 cards, i was wondering if we can connect 1 pe6r4 (not "i") & one pe6r4-i in a 2010 MP ?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-06-2016, 04:16 PM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 170
Default Re: Magma PE6R4-I or PE6R4 EM

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovebrother View Post
hi all,

as i read pro tools hd tdm can hold 7 cards, i was wondering if we can connect 1 pe6r4 (not "i&quot & one pe6r4-i in a 2010 MP ?
You can indeed use 7 HD/TDM cards but they all need to reside in the same chassis. I suppose you could use two chassis and fill fhe second one with UAD cards...
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-07-2016, 02:27 AM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: grooveland
Posts: 315
Default Re: Magma PE6R4-I or PE6R4 EM

i was affraid of that - thx anyways
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT8.1 with Magma PE6R4-I mattbell1978 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 03-18-2014 07:19 AM
Wtb: Magma pe6r4 RCN Buy & Sell 1 06-02-2012 08:39 AM
Magma PE6R4 subwoof Post - Surround - Video 4 03-21-2010 02:18 PM
Anyone using the Magma PE6R4 with a G5? mixboy bob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-11-2009 08:29 AM
Magma PE6R4 TimNielsen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 11-19-2008 09:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com