Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2010, 10:37 PM
godhatesusall godhatesusall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 22
Smile computer builds

hello there,

2 weeks ago i purchased a MBox 2 mini and protools 8.0 - i have since learned of the many issues (compatabillity etc) that need to be resolved before i can sink my teeth into it. (probably shouldv done sum research first) Anyway, whats done is done, i am now looking to purchase a compatible system, one that will deliver reliable, smooth, full functionallity at a good price.

Unfortunatly i dont know much about computers and looking through Digidesigns web site seems to confuse me a little

i have a budget of $1500.00 (australian)

Can anyone recomend a tried and true system in this price range?
or do i need to up the ante

Your help would be greatly appreciated
Warren
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2010, 10:54 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,542
Default Re: computer builds

Click me.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2010, 11:58 PM
godhatesusall godhatesusall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 22
Default Re: computer builds

thanks for the reply Shane,
I take it all the builds listed perform well.
Who's build do you think is the best value for money and performance?
I also heard intel xeon Quad core processors where the way to go, how do they compare to the i7 processors?
please excuse any ignorance on my behalf regarding computers
thanks again
Warren
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2010, 01:24 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,542
Default Re: computer builds

Quote:
Originally Posted by godhatesusall View Post
thanks for the reply Shane,
I take it all the builds listed perform well.
Who's build do you think is the best value for money and performance?
Time to do some reading/homework and inquiring in the i7 thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by godhatesusall View Post
I also heard intel xeon Quad core processors where the way to go, how do they compare to the i7 processors?
Heard this from who? Pro Tools is a whole other beast on it's own. The i7 owns the Xeon when it comes to running Pro Tools. The best thing to do is read through the thread then start asking the questions in the i7 thread. A wee bit of homework should be done first in my opinion. Many will lend a hand and give help. Keep us posted on your venture.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2010, 02:05 AM
godhatesusall godhatesusall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 22
Default Re: computer builds

thanks for the tips
The person who talked up xeon was using Cubebase so i take your point.
also reading through the threads i see your really switched on when it comes to protools and computers so i will value your opinion more than my well meening friend
do you earn your living with protools?
Warren
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2010, 02:09 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,542
Default Re: computer builds

Quote:
Originally Posted by godhatesusall View Post
thanks for the tips
The person who talked up xeon was using Cubebase so i take your point.
Cubase and Pro Tools run completely different under the hood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by godhatesusall View Post
do you earn your living with protools?
Yes.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh builds? Sixstringer7 General Discussion 7 04-08-2013 09:41 AM
new to pc builds chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-18-2011 07:10 PM
any p45 builds fofif5792 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 12:47 PM
OSX "builds" Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-18-2004 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com