Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2006, 07:14 AM
dec dec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default JOE MEEK AND MBOX!

Hi all,would b grateful for advice with following: im using a joe meek vc3q external compressor /eq with my pt le/mbox2 and was wondering with input i insert into in mbox--di input or line trs as both seem to record my joe meek onto tracks in ptools-a bit confused!thanks,dec.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2006, 07:40 AM
WaDa TanK WaDa TanK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 57
Default Re: JOE MEEK AND MBOX!

I have the same Pre but I also use the Jm47 mic with it. But I...

Set the Mbox(Orig.) input to Instrument, when coming mono from the ThreeQ you need to set the Output gain around -3 or -4. I know it doesn't have this number displayed, just estimate it. The reason is with this pre ran mono it boost the volume by 4db (if I remember right, may have been 3db but the picture is painted). Eventhough it is a Mono Pre, you have two channels of output to run one to the recorder, and one to the monitoring system. With the Mbox you only need One.

Do your gain adjustments with the Input gain nob on the ThreeQ. I usually leave it at Unity gain, and adjust the compressor & eq. Because having the JoeMeekrophone and ThreeQ together, the noise floor is bearly audible (This could be the Monitoring system at to high of a volume, Vocals are done in a Iso Booth) and it will pick up anything in its surroundings.

You can use the Line input on the Mbox but trying to get the two to sink up at a Unity gain state was more of a headache than this route I figured out.

Hope this is of you for you!

Da Wada
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2006, 12:14 PM
dec dec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default Re: JOE MEEK AND MBOX!

Hi ,thanks for reply-thats a grat help---also can u teel me do u always eq /compress when inserting to a track when recording--any tips on rough levels/settings for good vocal,acoustic guitar takes using joe meek jm47 and vc3q.thanks,dec
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mbox 2 and joe meek one q darcy8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-16-2008 07:14 PM
EQ III vs. Joe Meek EQ.. Edson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-20-2007 09:35 PM
Joe Meek and le 7.3.1 KMAN385 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-16-2007 02:43 PM
Joe Meek - the man Nashville Bass General Discussion 9 03-08-2003 03:17 AM
Joe Meek Mic Pre ->into 001 ch 1&2 or 3 - 8??? guitates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-14-2000 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com