Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2015, 03:07 PM
Tuned2e Tuned2e is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Glen Burnie Maryland
Posts: 6
Default Opinions on converting an old Server to Pro Tools machine

I'll be picking up a 2U rack server on Saturday and converting it for Audio production. Even if it ends up not working out for Audio stuffs...for the price I am paying, I can't pass it up. I'll still have plenty of fun tinkering with the machine. Basic specs below:

2U Rackable half depth system
1x Tyan S7012 Motherboard (SSI EEB Form Factor)
2x Intel Xeon X5650's (six cores at 2.66Ghz)
72GB DDR3 ECC Reg Ram (4GB Dimms)
2x SATA 1TB HDD's (Six SATA ports and two SAS's) - will likely be swapped out
Onboard ICH10R Raid Controller
Onboard Quad 1Gigabit Ethernet ports
Onboard Dedicated IPMI 2.0
450W PSU - Will likely be upgraded
Five PCIe x8 (Four usable slots)

The man issues I expect to face are in implementation of my RME RayDAT card (as it is not low profile) but I should be able to compensate with a riser(flex cable). Low Wattage PSU (that I can't find recommended replacements for online and will have to wait until I look at the thing before finding a suitable replacement). And, the lack of GPU expandability (which I will likely use a 16x female --> 8x male PCIe riser - Flex cable to accommodate). I only care about adding a GPU for use of dual monitors since the onboard graphics won't allow for that and I refuse to mix on a single monitor.

I plan to pick up 3 or 4 like branded HDDs (possibly raptors) to run in RAID 5 with a SSD for the OS (Windows 7 x64 pro).

Will mainly be running Pro Tools 11 (non HD). I don't intend to use this machine for gaming or media.

I am slightly concerned with airflow due to the size of the case and the fact that it will be in my rack with my other gear.
This is my first real journey into the world of server machines so any advice would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2015, 03:33 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Opinions on converting an old Server to Pro Tools machine

a real server case is going to be LOUD do to fans/air movement
also most servers have 2 or 3 PSUs
I would get SSDs for audio and system drives and do a RAID 5 with Green or Red drives for backup
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2015, 11:32 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,747
Default Re: Opinions on converting an old Server to Pro Tools machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
a real server case is going to be LOUD do to fans/air movement
also most servers have 2 or 3 PSUs
I would get SSDs for audio and system drives and do a RAID 5 with Green or Red drives for backup
Just don't record to those green drives. You might solve a few issues by moving everything into a 4u case(the RME would fit and you would have more space for drives). In any case, it could be a fun experiment. I would hold off on drives until you find out if its compatible with Pro Tools.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Mac Pro Intel Machine into PCIe Chassis? Paulthe3rd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-21-2013 10:24 AM
500 Internal Server Error We're sorry but the web server encountered an unexpected c DrumEatDrum Getting Started 10 07-09-2013 11:47 AM
Opinions on Slate virtual tape machine? crizdee General Discussion 7 02-10-2013 02:15 PM
Files transfered server-server relay still downloaded from remote server Phill Barrett Aspera DigiDelivery 1 03-19-2010 01:58 AM
Okay. So Why Aren't We Using Server 2003 or Server 2008 Again? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-26-2009 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com