Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2008, 05:31 PM
Dowski Dowski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mixer

Ok here goes - hopefully some kind and awesome soul has the answer! I have a G4 w/ digi001, One pair of monitors and one 18 channel mixer (all my synths go into the mixer as well). The mixer is connected to: the main outs on the 001 (channels 1 &2 on the mixer), the front two inputs on the 001 for tracking (sub outs 1&2 on the mixer) and to the monitors (control monitor outs on the mixer). I just bought a Mac Pro w/ 003 and I'm trying to figure out how to connect it to my current set up so I don't have to keep disconnecting the 001. Any idears? Is it as simple as taking the 3rd and 4th (or whichever tracks) on the mixer, putting them into the main outs of the 003 and connecting any two Sub outs on the mixer to any two inputs on the 003?
Essentially the equation looks like = 001+003+ one pair of monitors + mixer =????
__________________
Mac Pro 2 X 2.8 GHz Quad-Core, 12 GB RAM, Digi 003,
10.5.3, 7.4.2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2008, 03:57 AM
The Patch Chord The Patch Chord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cameron, Mo.
Posts: 160
Default Re: Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mixer

Hi Dowski, I have a similar setup. I use an 002r on a Mac Pro Quad along with an 001 in a G4 450. I connect them using a pair of ADAT cables and use the 001 pretty much just for additional inputs if I need them. My main A/D D/A I/O I use the 002 for and simply run out if it into an analog 8 bus mixer.

There are some clever things you can do with routing back and forth on the light pipe and using the 001 analog I/O for outboard goodies, but honestly with the horse power of the Mac Pro, I really don't have to be too creative in that regard. In the old days with the 002 on a dual G4 there were some reasons to experiment, but not so much anymore.

The 001 and the 002 play nice via the ADAT cable. I clock them both from the 002. You can send your 001 audio out the light pipe into aux tracks on the 002 if you just want to use the 002 analog I/O or you can continue to connect 001 analog I/O directly to the mixer. I have mine set up to do both without having to re patch anything.

In your post you said...

<< Is it as simple as taking the 3rd and 4th (or whichever tracks) on the mixer, putting them into the main outs of the 003 and connecting any two Sub outs on the mixer to any two inputs on the 003?

Frankly, Yes, it can be that simple. Be sure to be mindful of your sub group assignments to avoid feedback issues.

And to phrase it properly, you're taking the 003 outputs and putting them into the 3rd & 4th input channels of the mixer. Remember you're signal flow, it's always from & to. Outs to Ins, never ins to outs.

I hope that helps or makes sense. Lack of sleep may be making me goofy.

Good luck.
__________________
C Ya, Stan
www.thepatchchord.com
Good - Fast - Cheap >> Pick Any Two
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2008, 09:21 AM
Dowski Dowski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mi

Thank you, Sir! Greatly appreciated! You just saved me $300!!! Thanks!
__________________
Mac Pro 2 X 2.8 GHz Quad-Core, 12 GB RAM, Digi 003,
10.5.3, 7.4.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Mixer Routing/Monitoring Question... bvcreative 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-14-2007 08:39 AM
Simple question about mixer routing RyanC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 04-28-2005 07:13 AM
Novice yet complicated 002r sync question darkroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-10-2004 02:40 PM
routing to mbox thru mixer question samrisio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-29-2004 06:31 AM
001 Mixer Routing Question. AnalogTree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-05-2000 10:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com