Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2010, 06:20 AM
joji joji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 125
Default Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

I am going to upgrade my system to snow leopard. How do you do a clean install without messing up all my plugin authorizations that are not ilok based. If I do a clean install how do i get all my preferences and plugins and protools etc working again. do i have to reinstall all my music and worprocessing software again
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:49 AM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

Clean install of SL will give better PT results, with less drama.

You'll need to re-install everything fresh, and have to duke it out with companies that don't do iLok.

Yes, you'll have to reinstall your word processing apps, too.

Have a fun weekend
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2010, 09:00 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 432
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

Clean - I've just done a Leopard reinstall to fix a few things - It worth the pain, PT's 8 is now stable for me
D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2010, 09:01 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

Clean! Originally I done the update but had lots of weird little issues. Did a clean install and everything works beautifully (knock wood.)
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2010, 09:03 AM
Detlef Brockmann Detlef Brockmann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Luebeck/Germany
Posts: 280
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

same here: a fresh installation improved a lot of small very strange ProTools behaviers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2010, 09:13 AM
Concerttom Concerttom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego, Calif.
Posts: 120
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

Clean install definitely seems to be the way to go. You can also re-import your old applications and settings toward the end of the process, if you so choose (I did it that way & it worked fine). Here's a good step-by-step blog tutorial if you need it:

http://blog.jeff-owens.com/mac-osx/s...tall-tutorial/
__________________
MacBook Pro, OS 10.6.2, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.6 GHz, 4 GB Memory, 003 Factory, PT LE 8.0.3, G-Tech G DRIVE Q 1TB HD

-------------------------------------------

'Wave of the future, Dude. One hundred percent electronic.' -- J. Treehorn
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2010, 09:16 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

I'm with the clean install gang - that's what I did, but... why does it have to be so??

It's accepted wisdom to do a clean install but this isn't black magic, why can't Digi work out what isn't working with upgrade installs that works fine for every other application. Even Apple strongly guide you towards upgrade installation rather than clean installation with Snow Leopard. When I did a clean install it was about a week till I had everything back as I had on my old machine. Little utilities would suddenly be noticed by their absence, it was a total pain.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2010, 09:59 AM
smfelton's Avatar
smfelton smfelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 682
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

Absolutely clean install everytime. A few extra hours now against days of stress later is always a winner to me.
__________________
 OSX 10.11.5, PT 12.5, iConnectAudio4+, Axe FX 2 XL+, Music Man Majesty
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2010, 01:16 PM
anothercolour anothercolour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 242
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

I am about to do a clean install myself. I always wonder, do I need to de-authorize plugins that use the computer ID and password authorization method (such as the Toontrack products)? I have always de-authorized each one in the past; very time consuming. But I'm wondering, if, after I install the new system and the new plugins (on the same machine), if I type in the authorization codes that were given to me when I previously installed the plugins, will the software recognize that I am using the same computer and the same harddrive and, therefore, accept the original authorization codes and computer ID?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2011, 01:12 PM
SplinterMathwood SplinterMathwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC NY and environs
Posts: 24
Default Re: Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install

With a clean install of SL, can you still migrate all your other software without having to reinstall EVERYTHING (like CS4 and MS Office etc)?

That sounds like the gigantic PITA.

Thanks for this thread. One of the first to help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If i buy a new MBP can i install snow leopard? Red Sun Studio's macOS 8 07-16-2011 04:53 PM
best way to do clean install on Snow Leopard miketeachesclass macOS 1 03-09-2011 07:14 PM
Couldn't get snow leopard install to stabilize from leopard clone update! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2010 04:45 PM
Snow Leopard Install BondAudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-22-2009 08:22 AM
Clean install ProTools LE for Snow Leopard Zoduati 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-03-2009 09:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com