Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-13-2020, 09:45 PM
lucidlife lucidlife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: st pete fl
Posts: 105
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
The Apollo is not causing any issues, to put it bluntly, the "issues" here are just you needing to understand what is going on.

You don't need to use a different interface to test anything. All this *will* make sense if you work though what is going on. As Sardi points out, now that you have told us you are software monitoring though plugins... that plugin latency in Pro Tools is an obvious suspect... so what is the exact expected latency of the plugin(s) (at your sample rate,... the vendor should clearly document this). As I suggested before just measure what is going on... and see if it makes sense. You have a DAW in front of you that can measure delays to very high precision by recording the input and monitor return to another track.

If you don't need to use the very specific Pro Tools plugins then yes use a UAD plugin. But be careful, not all UAD plugins are low/no latency, you have to understand that, all well documented in the UAD software documentation.

Again, understand and calculate what delay is expected and measure. Then you will really know you have this understood.
I tried googling to see if I can find out how to record my headphone input, but can't find anything. I rattled my brain trying to figure it out on my own.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-14-2020, 10:10 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 745
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
But since I assume you are OK with monitoring through the Console just disable track input monitoring on the tracks you are recording. (uncheck the green "i" button on the track in Pro Tools).

Hey Darryl, I don’t get how you disable input monitoring in Pro Tools. AFAIK there’s Auto Input Monitoring or Input Only Monitoring (the green button engaged). If you don’t want to hear back from Pro Tools because you monitor through Console you have to route the track to an unused output or bus. Am I wrong?

Best

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2019, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-14-2020, 10:18 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
AFAIK there’s Auto Input Monitoring or Input Only Monitoring (the green button engaged)
Auto Input Monitoring is when you don't have that "I" button
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-14-2020, 10:20 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 745
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Auto Input Monitoring is when you don't have that "I" button
yes, I know. But is there a chance to disable monitoring completely?
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2019, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-14-2020, 10:49 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
yes, I know. But is there a chance to disable monitoring completely?
When you are in the manual input monitoring, have all green "I" buttons disengaged.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-14-2020, 11:29 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 745
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
When you are in the manual input monitoring, have all green "I" buttons disengaged.

Hmm, doesn’t work with my systems. While recording (red button lit) PT always routes thru the input signal even if the i button is disengaged.
The only way to make sure PT doesn’t monitor while recording is to route the track to an unused bus or output IMHO.
Or can disable monitoring while recording a track somewhere in PT?
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2019, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-14-2020, 12:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

You are making it overly complicated. If you simply don't want to listen to a track while you record you drop the fader down, problem solved. Or hit mute. Neither of those affect recording levels. You can confirm this by making sure you have PRE-FADER metering (as is best practice for recording sessions anyway) and see that the levels are jumping even though you have fader down or track muted.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-14-2020, 12:19 PM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 745
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You are making it overly complicated. If you simply don't want to listen to a track while you record you drop the fader down, problem solved. Or hit mute. Neither of those affect recording levels. You can confirm this by making sure you have PRE-FADER metering (as is best practice for recording sessions anyway) and see that the levels are jumping even though you have fader down or track muted.

You’re completely right. I forgot Pro Tools remembers two states of the channel fader: One level when in record mode and another one while playing back.
Thanks for your thoughts.

Best

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2019, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-14-2020, 12:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,057
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
Thanks for your thoughts.
No problem
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-16-2020, 10:09 AM
lucidlife lucidlife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: st pete fl
Posts: 105
Default Re: Latency issues with Mac mini

So can anyone help me with my issue? I'm still not sure why I'm getting latency even when I have no plugins instantiated. It does sound good at buffer size of 64, but at 128 I can hear a slight latency issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latency Issues - changing latency has no effect Kippa-Dee Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-15-2010 08:39 PM
Mac Mini and Mbox 2 Mini Issues neilwilsonvoiceovers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-17-2010 09:34 AM
Latency problems with Mini-Me David Penick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 01-01-2006 07:20 PM
Apogee MINI-DAC and LATENCY issues kdotson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-30-2003 01:30 PM
mbox + mini me latency issues jvancorduroy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-22-2003 07:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com