Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:56 AM
keithmac keithmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Default PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

I am running PT 7.3.1 with a Digi 002 Rack.

Computer Info: Mac Pro

Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz

Any thoughts on the proper chain of events to get me running on PT 9?
I assume I must first upgrade from 10.4.11 with the "Mac Box Set" to Snow Leopard and then go from there?

Just a bit worried about upgrading the OS and PT, both from much older platforms.

Any thoughts or suggestions are welcomed kindly!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2010, 10:17 AM
HD2 HD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 928
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

Buy another hard drive and put it in a spare slot on the mac pro. Install snow leopard and PT 9 on that. Then you can keep your other set up until you are happy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2010, 10:39 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

Carbon Copy Cloner is a must for OS X.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2010, 02:20 PM
ian benn ian benn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: England
Posts: 64
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2 View Post
Buy another hard drive and put it in a spare slot on the mac pro. Install snow leopard and PT 9 on that. Then you can keep your other set up until you are happy.
I will have to do a similar operation, never done this before so need to know how does the mac cope with two operating systems?

Thanks
__________________
ianbenn
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2010, 02:53 PM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

You can select the startup disk by either holding the Option key while booting or within the System Preferences. Simples.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2010, 07:11 AM
keithmac keithmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

Since 7.3.1 does not run on 10.6, when I purchase and install the PT upgrade will it recognize and install correctly on the new OSX?

Getz- If using your method would I potentially run into problems using the same drive that the PT application is on as my drive for all of my PT Sessions?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2010, 07:22 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

Just download the full installer.

I do not understand your second question.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2010, 07:34 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

Your best bet is to a complete, or "clean" uninstall of 7.3.1. Then do your upgrade to Snow Leopard. Then, as mentioned, download the full installer for PT9.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2010, 08:22 AM
Dj-Ike Dj-Ike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 241
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithmac View Post
Since 7.3.1 does not run on 10.6, when I purchase and install the PT upgrade will it recognize and install correctly on the new OSX?

Getz- If using your method would I potentially run into problems using the same drive that the PT application is on as my drive for all of my PT Sessions?
Your PT sessions can, and should be on a separate drive than your system drive. When you w-click your session, it will call up whatever PT app that is active at the time. For instance, I have a 1TB drive for my system, and any other apps that "have" to be installed on the system drive, then I have a 1.5TB for my PT, DP, Logic sessions, and session audio files etc..... then all of my samples, sounds, loops etc, are on a 2TB drive. This leaves another drive that I can use for a different start-up OS if necessary. It has worked for me in the past, and I had no problems with this. I did have a meltdown because my wife accidentally tripped he main breaker while I was working on a project Fried the system, but not the other drives, so session data, audio files, and samples, etc were fine The only things that were lost, was some photos, apps(which were re-installable), and my sleep. 1TB worth of apps, and things is a lot to re-install.
By using a separate drive until you have Snow + PT9 working the way you want it to is a great idea. From 8 to 9 is not such a big step, as from 7 to 9. Leop, and Snow, are a bit different as well. Some things that ran on Leop, will not run on Snow. That in itself can interfere with the workflow that you are accustomed to.
Hope this helps.
PT9.... I'm lovin' it!!!!!!!!........ yeah, I'm sure
__________________
PT2020, Avid S3, LogicX, DP8, OS10.14.6, Mac Pro 2013 3.5GHz/128GB ram/SSD=14T, Macbook Pro 17" i7/16GB/4T Samsung EVO SSD, Yamaha 01V96i, Digi 003, UMC404HD, A.I.R., DSF Plugs, EW Collection, McDsp collection, Slate Digital VMS ONE/VMR collection, Softube collection, IK Multimedia Bundle, Komplete 11/12/13 Ultimate, Reason 11, Waves Mercury/SSL400/Abbey Roads, Wavearts5, Avox, NI S61+Maschine MKIII, Maschine Studio, DP8, Urei 1178, S760, Emu P2K, ect..
Music is the Message
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2010, 10:04 AM
HD2 HD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 928
Default Re: PT 7.3.1 to PT 9---OSX 10.4.11 to Snow Lepoard

Mac Pro's can have any number of Operating systems installed on different drive. There are 4 internal slots so your best bet is to buy a couple of few drives (they are cheap) and fill those slots. Load your new OS on the second drive then you can use either/or as your OS. As someone said you just select your boot drive in the system preferences. Once running if you wish to switch just go into your prefs and select the other drive as your start up and re-boot. Then use the other 2 drives for all your PT sessions. Do not use a boot drive for your sessions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 2, Core Audio on Snow Lepoard noisyshaun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-25-2011 02:03 AM
Pro Tools 9 on Snow Leo 10.6.5 ? LSNY macOS 4 12-21-2010 08:34 AM
do your customers ask: LE ,HD lepoard SL? Pedro perez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-20-2009 10:53 PM
Snow Leapord mixer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-28-2009 06:11 AM
is anyone running epic tdm in lepoard? ejsongs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-14-2008 01:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com