Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2012, 03:07 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default So what about new ThunderBolt interface and VENUE?

Nice box is out, but...

Is HDx card for VENUE not supported?

http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/stor...tive_ds_A4.pdf

Also, has AVID any plans selling this box without the interface for us, VENUE users that would like to use this to be able to track into laptops?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2012, 03:12 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: So what about new ThunderBolt interface and VENUE?

sure it is. All you need is an adapter cable to go to the mini connectors on the HD Native solution. No need for an extra interface - just hook up straight to the HDx card for 64 I/O

afaik it will be available as a standalone Box - no interface or even PT license required / included option.

Not sure about pricing - I'll leave that up to the sales dudes but from what I have heard it's all pretty cool - even the price

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2012, 03:28 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: So what about new ThunderBolt interface and VENUE?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
sure it is. All you need is an adapter cable to go to the mini connectors on the HD Native solution. No need for an extra interface - just hook up straight to the HDx card for 64 I/O

afaik it will be available as a standalone Box - no interface or even PT license required / included option.

Not sure about pricing - I'll leave that up to the sales dudes but from what I have heard it's all pretty cool - even the price

Chris
If it's going to be available separately as a box that would be great! I mean there are number of us needing this as an interface between out desks and laptops and most of us most likely have no need for another interface and Pro Tools license. Right now the only place I have seen a talk about the price is at the pro-tools-expert.com and the pricing showed there includes interfaces (and probably pro tools licenses). http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...w-to-foll.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2012, 03:32 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: So what about new ThunderBolt interface and VENUE?

Now to think of it, users that have Pro Tools but not a HD version would still need a license (to be able to have 32+ IO), so a version of this box without an interface but with PTHD license would probably be most appropriate for VENUE users.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2012, 04:31 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: So what about new ThunderBolt interface and VENUE?

Afaik there will be a number of options :

- HD native thunderbolt box or PCIe card only (no PT license included)
- HD native thunderbolt box or PCIe card + PT HD license

which would be the options you are hinting at.


- and then of course a number of options bundled with an Avid interface.



Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2012, 05:03 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: So what about new ThunderBolt interface and VENUE?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
Afaik there will be a number of options :

- HD native thunderbolt box or PCIe card only (no PT license included)
- HD native thunderbolt box or PCIe card + PT HD license

which would be the options you are hinting at.


- and then of course a number of options bundled with an Avid interface.



Chris
Sounds good!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2013, 09:46 AM
JohnBruce JohnBruce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2
Default Re: So what about new ThunderBolt interface and VENUE?

Has anyone used this setup ? Curious as to how stable it is. Also curious as to the macbook specs need to record 64 tracks for a whole 90 min set without worrying.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Interface chann48211 Getting Started 12 05-27-2014 07:46 AM
New thunderbolt interface John_Toolbox Third Party Interfaces 10 02-15-2014 11:34 AM
I may not need a Mac pro after all... Pro Tools|HD Native Thunderbolt Interface rogerhavoc macOS 10 10-01-2012 03:56 PM
HD native thunderbolt - without Interface ilulilu888 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-26-2012 10:31 AM
HD Native Thunderbolt Interface M-ManLA General Discussion 16 09-10-2012 08:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com