Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-13-2011, 07:25 PM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

SiSoftware have confirmed Memory Bus Speed is reporting incorrectly in the latest version of Sandra with my rig. They're going to have me run some tests and logs and such.

Mike.
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-13-2011, 09:00 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Thanks for the update Mike. Ummm... are the previous revisions of Sandra not reporting correctly?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-14-2011, 05:54 AM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

v1715 reports correctly.

But I wouldn't be concerned. If QPI and Uncore values are correct, the IMC will be working at the correct frequency.

Mike.
__________________
This might qualify for "the best worded, but most idiotic thing I've ever heard said" award.-ejwells

Avid Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.3. Win7x64Sp1. i7-930 X58A-UD3R. Acronis backup. Black Viper optimized.
Google the DUC
Search Avid

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-14-2011, 04:39 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Between you, me and the fencepost, I too are having trouble with 64/32 H/W Buffer Playback on certain partitions and I've narrowed the cause to a driver or programme/utility. Perhaps it might be worth taking a look in another direction.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-14-2011, 04:50 PM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

OK Aaron, I'll admit to being the fencepost. What driver or programme/utility do you suspect? The operative word here is suspect so you won't be held accountable if it doesn't turn out to be the case. What direction should we be looking?

Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate (Native)2019.6, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-14-2011, 05:34 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg M View Post
OK Aaron, I'll admit to being the fencepost. What driver or programme/utility do you suspect?
Hi Greg, I'm regressing this as we speak. I'm not sure if it's a Windows .dll or a Gigabyte driver or another third party driver and utility combination. All I know at this comment is that I have one partition that does not produce -909x Playback Errors. I clone this drive and install previous versions of Pro Tools and no -909x errors display. Point is what makes that cloned partition so special. It can only be software.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-10-2011, 12:36 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: 32 Samples H/W Buffer Size playback with 192 I/O

Mike, if you're running in SATA IDE Mode do not install Intel Rapid Storage Technology (RST) Utility/Driver. You do not need to install Intel INF Utility. And if you are running an ATI graphics card disable AMD External Events Utility. These I have found to be contributors to -909x Playback Errors and Clocking disruptions at 32 Sample H/W Buffer.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HW buffer size 64 samples..?.. Codo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-01-2011 03:58 PM
can't change h/w buffer size above 128 samples mmiller Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 07-24-2010 10:42 AM
I Want H/W Buffer Size of 2048 samples on 002R jbaby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-05-2008 03:44 PM
HELP....H/W Buffer Size @ 128 Samples or less DOENS'T WORK AT ALL rogerhavoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 12-31-2002 05:17 PM
My whole system crash when i set my H/W Buffer Size @ 128 Samples or less rogerhavoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-29-2002 02:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com