Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2009, 06:05 PM
MASTERLINKSTUDIOS MASTERLINKSTUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/
Posts: 299
Question Anyone using external SSD to record audio

Wondering because the prices are dropping and I see OWC with some with the right chipset.asking because I need a portable 7200 drive. Thanks in advance
__________________
Macpro 2.88-4 Gig Ram,HD2,Big Ben,Rosetta 200,Dangerous D Box,Mercury Bundle + Studio classics bundle ,C/24,2-UA 6176,U87ai,Genelec 8050 & 8020,Logic,Final Cut Studio 2,Canon hxa1(hd camera)-Macbook Pro,Mbox 2 Micro.http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/.http://www.myspace.com/masterlinkstudios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:10 AM
MASTERLINKSTUDIOS MASTERLINKSTUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/
Posts: 299
Default Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

Anyone????
__________________
Macpro 2.88-4 Gig Ram,HD2,Big Ben,Rosetta 200,Dangerous D Box,Mercury Bundle + Studio classics bundle ,C/24,2-UA 6176,U87ai,Genelec 8050 & 8020,Logic,Final Cut Studio 2,Canon hxa1(hd camera)-Macbook Pro,Mbox 2 Micro.http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/.http://www.myspace.com/masterlinkstudios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2009, 09:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,909
Default Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

SSD's are fast boot drives, but they're lousy data drives, because there's an infinite amount of write/rewrite cycles that it can handle. This was not a problem with USB memory sticks because they are rather slow, but for a fast throughput drive it's a problem.

I for one would not want to buy a drive I had to replace every 6 months or so...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2009, 10:01 AM
FajitaTone FajitaTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
SSD's are fast boot drives, but they're lousy data drives, because there's an infinite amount of write/rewrite cycles that it can handle. This was not a problem with USB memory sticks because they are rather slow, but for a fast throughput drive it's a problem.

I for one would not want to buy a drive I had to replace every 6 months or so...

Should be "FINITE"

__________________
Ray Trujillo
Freelance Audio Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2009, 11:49 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,909
Default Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by FajitaTone View Post
Should be "FINITE"

Exactly. This just proves that my fingers are faster than my brain
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2009, 12:05 PM
MASTERLINKSTUDIOS MASTERLINKSTUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/
Posts: 299
Question Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

Thanks for the info. Never knew that ssd only could write or rewrite so many times. I'm gonna have to investigate. Thanks for any help everyone
__________________
Macpro 2.88-4 Gig Ram,HD2,Big Ben,Rosetta 200,Dangerous D Box,Mercury Bundle + Studio classics bundle ,C/24,2-UA 6176,U87ai,Genelec 8050 & 8020,Logic,Final Cut Studio 2,Canon hxa1(hd camera)-Macbook Pro,Mbox 2 Micro.http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/.http://www.myspace.com/masterlinkstudios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2009, 12:29 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

I use a 2X250 GB OCZ Vertex SSDs in RAID 0 for my system drive Mac Pro Boots in about 30 secs and Protools boots in under 45 secs It''s killa fast
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-2009, 12:54 PM
zodo zodo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 57
Default Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

Modern SSD drives have a MTBF (mean time between failures) as good as or better than most consumer hard drives.

They have a real advantage in seek times for small files (virtually nonexistent). Read performance is generally excellent. Write performance is the major downfall, however. When an SSD has to write to an area that previously contained data, it has to go through two operations. First, it has to erase that block, which is an expensive operation time-wise. Second, it has to do the actual write operation. In effect, when the drive is brand new, you'll see amazing read AND write performance...until you've written to every block on the drive once, then you have to begin erasing before writing, causing a sudden performance drop-off. That kind of variation makes an unpredictable media drive. Unless you like inexplicable -9073 errors, I would stay away for now.

This anantech writeup will give you more information about it than you'll ever wish to know. =)

http://www.anandtech.com/storage/sho...spx?i=3531&p=8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-09-2009, 01:02 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,392
Default Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by MASTERLINKSTUDIOS View Post
Wondering because the prices are dropping and I see OWC with some with the right chipset.asking because I need a portable 7200 drive. Thanks in advance
What would be the benefit of connecting a super-fast SSD via a rather slow interface like FW800 or 400? Or are these housings eSATA you are talking about?

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-2009, 06:22 PM
pgripp pgripp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 62
Default Re: Anyone using external SSD to record audio

So an SSD would make a great sample library drive, correct? Ignoring the price per/GB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does Avid recommend external USB over external Firewire for audio drive? DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 10 03-29-2012 09:39 PM
Backing up Audio Drive (External) and External HD Question JCWarrior Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-13-2008 04:42 AM
external hard drive not an audio record volume tadeo2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-20-2005 11:49 PM
Can't record audio on external Lacie firewire driv zErOcOoL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-26-2004 01:47 PM
Can I record in stereo using the Powerbook G4 mini-jack external audio input? msa007 Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 01-26-2003 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com