Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2006, 06:53 AM
rems rems is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: PR
Posts: 546
Default Loading songs from other CD\'s

I'm putting together a CD with songs from various other CDs. I want to load the songs into PTLe one after the other so I could "master" them easily. What word and sampling rate do you use to load the songs (given that the CD's are 16/44.1)? Is there a benefit of using 24/44.1 or higher and then dithering?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2006, 06:54 AM
rocktron rocktron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

just go 16 bit/44.1kHz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2006, 06:56 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

Quote:
I'm putting together a CD with songs from various other CDs. I want to load the songs into PTLe one after the other so I could "master" them easily. What word and sampling rate do you use to load the songs (given that the CD's are 16/44.1)? Is there a benefit of using 24/44.1 or higher and then dithering?
If you are doing ANY processing whatsoever, use 24 bit and dither. Avoid noise shaping as it might cause unforeseen issues with any previously applied noise shaped dither.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2006, 07:27 AM
rocktron rocktron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

Quote:
If you are doing ANY processing whatsoever, use 24 bit and dither.
why?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2006, 07:42 AM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 561
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

Do a search on chris and you'll come across a reply to a mastering question which answers that and many many other questions about mastering...
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:27 AM
rems rems is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: PR
Posts: 546
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

Thanks all!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2006, 05:02 PM
rocktron rocktron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

Quote:
Do a search on chris and you'll come across a reply to a mastering question which answers that and many many other questions about mastering...
yes but my mastering engineer tells me different so who do i believe? some guy i don't know on the internet or some guy i do know who is well respected and has 35 odd years of mastering up his sleave?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2006, 05:45 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

Who is your mastering engineer? (just so I know never to use or recommend him)
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2006, 06:08 PM
aliengroover aliengroover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 289
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

Quote:
Who is your mastering engineer? (just so I know never to use or recommend him)
What he said.
Peace
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:28 AM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 561
Default Re: Loading songs from other CD\'s

Quote:
Quote:
Do a search on chris and you'll come across a reply to a mastering question which answers that and many many other questions about mastering...
yes but my mastering engineer tells me different so who do i believe? some guy i don't know on the internet or some guy i do know who is well respected and has 35 odd years of mastering up his sleave?


Some guy you don't know on the internet...
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002 not loading...it freezes with the words "loading" on the screen teketuco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-09-2012 05:42 PM
audio not loading in songs Muzza_Boogie Eleven Rack 5 03-21-2011 05:05 PM
uploading songs into Pro Tools from downloaded songs in iTunes? GMP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-17-2009 09:52 PM
Set up seperate songs from string of songs in one recording Grainbelters 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-30-2008 10:16 PM
loading protools songs on version 5.1 hypo Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 12-02-2004 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com