Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2018, 10:49 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,916
Default Buying a Monitor (Screen)

What to look for when buying a monitor, now I have a C24 I want to change from my 42 inch TV as the studio monitor to 2 x 27inch screens so I can have mix and edit screen up at the same time.

What should I look for when buying one ?
What is response time? Seen some with 6ms response and some with 1ms. Would this make any difference to me as I’m not gaming with it ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2018, 09:23 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,966
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

Is the 42" a 1080P or a 720 resolution? I like(and use) 27" screens, but they are a lot closer to my face than the C24 will allow(and, if you go with more than 1920x1080 resolution, things are going to get even smaller). My main screen(which IS at a distance the C24 would allow) is a 43" LED TV running at 1920x1080 and I would likely never got back to a smaller EDIT window(but you may have much better eyes than me). Also, consider stacking screens instead of side by side maybe a pair of 34" ultra-wide screens?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0939.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	68.6 KB
ID:	10734  
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2018, 09:39 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

Thanks Albee. Here’s my dilemma. Years ago I used to use 2 screens and now miss the way I used to have both edit and mix window open at the same time and when tuning vocals with melodyne I could keep melodyne open on one screen while still seeing the edit screen and using it without melodyne disappearing in the task bar at the bottom.

At the moment my screen is a heavy Sony TV which if I want to use the c24 I need to get a new screen with a VESA arm so there is room on my desk and the monitors sit above the c24

Now the problem is I don’t want to invest in 2 monitors realise they are 2 small and have to sell them aswell as finding out I can’t get on with the c24. Its hard to to get a feel about screens and desks etc without trying them.

So all advice and experience is appreciated, so thanks again Albee for chiming in


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2018, 01:14 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,786
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

Well 27" screens will work great and the "stacking" of Albee's screens looks very strange and would never use a screen that way. For one i would be annoyed as heck to look up to see something i need to see at tye same time I use the S6 and second it looks really weird IMO and never seen anyone use screens like that in music studios.

Go with 2X27" side by side and if you only wanna use one screen then get a mid price 40-42 inch with mid range numbers like seek time 5-6 and try it for a week or two and if you are not happy then just trade it in for another model.

The bigger the screens the more tweaking and moving around you will get to do. We have two Raven MTi2 in our SSL4000G+ room and 2 27" apple 4K in tye S-6 mixer room and i wouldn't wanna have bigger screens as the actual resolution will be worse unless you start spending lots of time getting the exact placement and setup tweaks.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2018, 07:11 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,966
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

Re the 3 screens and looking up, its actually quite nice, and the upper screen has stuff that I only glance at(spectral display, markers). The lower screen is my MIX window, but I would think having the C24 would negate the need for a MIX screen. Then again, its not for everyone
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2018, 01:52 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

Went to the local TV shop today to just try and get a feel for other sizes of screen. Southside you mentioned the Raven and I remember when I had mine and how it felt in the studio real estate wise, which is good as I now know I would not want to go smaller than that.

Tried the c24 out today and it felt good, I defo need to read the manual more though to get the full use.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2018, 09:45 PM
ramonetl ramonetl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 188
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

Rather than multiple screens have you considered the larger monitors with PBP\PIP? The 43" LG for instance you can split up any number of ways and you can do that with the smaller ones. I am toying with the idea of replacing two dell 27" with one and using the software to change it around with the bottom all for the edit window and two separate boxes up above for the mix and other stuff. I did see some guying doing an advert for LG with two 34" curved monitors that looked super cool but it might be too wide for my desk. Just a thought but this is quite cool.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-20-2018, 12:00 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

That sounds like a plan Ramonetl. Does the software work on OSX lion ?? If it does then it will give me the option of having 2 or just 1 monitor


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2018, 03:25 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,653
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

I advise against going with only one screen and split it with software. I thought this was a good idea and replaced a dual screen setup with a 37,5" Ultrawide.
But I found it to be very impractical in the end.
It's just different than dealing with two separate screens, I couldn't get used to it. In the end I kept the Ultrawide for the edit window, which is really nice, but still added more screens.

__________________

Mac Pro 5,1 12-Core
- OSX 10.12.6
---
- Pro Tools HDN 2018.4
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-20-2018, 03:37 AM
octatonic octatonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 197
Default Re: Buying a Monitor (Screen)

I've done both and I'm faster with one big (but not too big) screen.

Having two screens side by side means you are always turning one way or the other.

I went back to one screen about 5 years ago.
Cmd = for fast switch between windows- in Logic I use screen sets which is way more powerful.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6 Monitor Screen Roger Stauss Pro Tools | S6 2 11-05-2016 12:27 PM
Touch Screen Monitor S3L pmueller VENUE Live Sound Systems 19 06-13-2016 09:53 PM
monitor screen and cpu redchair General Discussion 3 11-17-2009 02:09 PM
can I use an additional monitor screen twomba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-17-2008 10:55 AM
monitor in-ear buying suggestions SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-30-2006 07:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com