Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Old 04-11-2012, 04:08 PM

Default Pro Tools 10 Student Version- To upgrade, or not to upgrade?

Hi there, I'm new(ish) to a lot of this, and would greatly appreciate a bit of help from people who know quite a bit more than I do haha, so if I just explain my situation currently, it'll probably be easier.

I currently am using Pro tools M powered essentials, with the original m-audio fast track interface, which for me has done the job.

Now here's my pickle.

I found out recently about the student version of pro tools 10, which as I am studying my A levels currently, I'll be eligible for, which is available for around 210 pounds.
I was also looking at purchasing the fast track pro, with M-powered 9 software, for around 130-150.

I would like to be able to record more, for example, a drum kit, but obviously, the more XLR inputs an m-audio interface, the more the price starts to rapidly increase, and with only being able to use m audio hardware with m powered, there's a little problem there haha.

My thinking was, getting the student version of pt 10 would allow me to use other usb interfaces, right? (Please,correct me if i'm wrong), and just get maybe, an 8 track peavey usb mixer? Which I was thinking would be great, but looking into the system requirements of pt 10, this is where it starts to fall apart i guess, haha.

So, first off, the computer, i'm not running it off of this computer, I'll post the sandra report as soon as I can if necessary (which I presume it is haha)

One of the main things that I was caught up on, is the soundcard stuff, I'm pretty sure the fast track is used as an external soundcard for pt(?)
So would a usb mixer work?