Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2018, 07:04 AM
chip_nelson chip_nelson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: 65 Palatine
Posts: 1
Default 2018 | install plugin path?

I just installed 2018 | First. I also have PT 12.4 installed. What is the new plugin path so I can get my non avid plugins to work in 2018? Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2018, 07:39 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: 2018 | install plugin path?

Not all plugins work in Pro Tools | First. Only plugins purchased through the Avid Marketplace will work in PT | First. Although you may find some here and there that show up in First. The plugin path is the same for full PT.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ro-Tools-First
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2018, 01:27 PM
Wire57 Wire57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 85
Default Re: 2018 | install plugin path?

It would be great to have an article telling us the install path for aax plugins in ProTools 2018.3. Maybe that would solve my question:
I now face trouble with another bundle: Black Shiny Wah, Black Op Distortion, Black Spring appear in my application manager, but when I try to use them in a PT session, the do not show up in the inserts list.
This time, I feel I could really need to use at least one of them relatively soon.
I have a case opened about this, they suggested a remote session, but I don't see how that yould happen.
How will the contact be established, by which application?
How will I know when?
Please, if anyone could update me either about the remote session, or about the not useable plugins, I'd be very thankful.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2018, 01:34 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,411
Default Re: 2018 | install plugin path?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wire57 View Post
It would be great to have an article telling us the install path for aax plugins in ProTools 2018.3. Maybe that would solve my question:
I now face trouble with another bundle: Black Shiny Wah, Black Op Distortion, Black Spring appear in my application manager, but when I try to use them in a PT session, the do not show up in the inserts list.
This time, I feel I could really need to use at least one of them relatively soon.
I have a case opened about this, they suggested a remote session, but I don't see how that yould happen.
How will the contact be established, by which application?
How will I know when?
Please, if anyone could update me either about the remote session, or about the not useable plugins, I'd be very thankful.
Are they in the same folder the other aax plugins are in? If properly installed they should be. Since you don't say what operating system you're using I can't give you the path you need to look at. See this page for the location(s): http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...older-location
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2018, 09:52 AM
Wire57 Wire57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 85
Default Re: 2018 | install plugin path?

Windows
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins should be right, thanks for that.

Yes, I find them there, all the three of them. So how come I do not see them in the inserts within my PT session?

In the screenshot, I had been trying to insert the "Black Spring Reverb" which does not appear.

Somehow I messed up the upload of that screenshot. Sorry. Just see the posting below, please.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2018, 09:57 AM
Wire57 Wire57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 85
Default Re: 2018 | install plugin path?

Somehow I messed up the upload of that screenshot. Sorry. Here you go.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ReverbPlugins.jpg (52.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2018, 10:52 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,411
Default Re: 2018 | install plugin path?

After seeing your screenshot I see your problem - the plugins you want to use are mono/multi-mono and not stereo; I'm assuming here that you're using a stereo instrument track. Look in the multi-mono menu and you should see then there.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2018, 01:47 PM
Wire57 Wire57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 85
Default Re: 2018 | install plugin path?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
After seeing your screenshot I see your problem - the plugins you want to use are mono/multi-mono and not stereo; I'm assuming here that you're using a stereo instrument track. Look in the multi-mono menu and you should see then there.
Thankx a lot, musicman691.
I'll have to write to the service people that the issue is solved. I should have known that before. I tested all the 3 plugins the way you advised me to, and - they are terrific, really what I was looking for.
So happy holidays for you!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-31-2018, 04:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,411
Default Re: 2018 | install plugin path?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wire57 View Post
Thankx a lot, musicman691.
I'll have to write to the service people that the issue is solved. I should have known that before. I tested all the 3 plugins the way you advised me to, and - they are terrific, really what I was looking for.
So happy holidays for you!
Glad it worked. Have a happy & safe Easter as well!
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost HEAT in 2018 Install zeeman Pro Tools 2018 12 01-26-2018 08:42 PM
Focusrite Plugin Path Cutlerbri AAX Plug-ins 5 03-06-2017 08:36 AM
Plugin folder path Bfearr Windows 3 04-24-2016 08:07 AM
AAX Plugin Path miltonmessenger@yahoo.com Pro Tools 12 4 01-20-2016 04:17 PM
Plugin Path on Mac, HEEEEEEEEEEEEEELP NEEEEDED!! MarkusB Virtual Instruments 5 10-07-2006 08:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com