Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2016, 12:54 PM
Basstian Basstian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 290
Default Fine breakpoint adjustment change in 12.6 = Showstopper

Did not update yet, but after reading the release notes I guess I am stuck with 12.5.2 for now.

Additional Editing Improvements

Fine breakpoint adjustment now requires Shift+Command (Mac) or Shift+Control (Windows) keys and adjustment is constrained vertically.

How should that make an improvement? I use the fine adjustment (holding down the commend key) thousands of times a day while editing dialog adjusting the clip gain. Without the fine "commend" key the range is always too big and you have to readjust too often.

Adding another key will be very uncomfortable, but you might get used to it.
But constraining the adjustment vertically renders it completely useless for dialog work, because a "free repositioning" of the breakpoint is one of the keyfeatures with clip gain.

this is a real showstopper. I could not see how this could be an improvement and who might want this kind of behaviour and additional key.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:01 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,159
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Still works the same (as in same as it always used to work) in setting clip gain - just tried it.

I almost never use the mouse for clip gain, tend to use Ctrl+Shift+Up/Down arrow.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:02 PM
Basstian Basstian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 290
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
Still works the same (as in same as it always used to work) in setting clip gain - just tried it.

I almost never use the mouse for clip gain, tend to use Ctrl+Shift+Up/Down arrow.

Pete
Do you speak of clip gain breakpoints?

I nearly never use the "general" clip gain, but a lot of individual points on the clip gain line of a clip. And I understand the release note in that way, that editing breakpoint just does not work like before anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:04 PM
connor@@vid's Avatar
connor@@vid connor@@vid is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 98
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
Still works the same (as in same as it always used to work) in setting clip gain - just tried it.

I almost never use the mouse for clip gain, tend to use Ctrl+Shift+Up/Down arrow.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:06 PM
Basstian Basstian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 290
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstian View Post
Do you speak of clip gain breakpoints?

I nearly never use the "general" clip gain, but a lot of individual points on the clip gain line of a clip. And I understand the release note in that way, that editing breakpoint just does not work like before anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:18 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,159
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Ah I see, just tried it and you DO have to hold shift too now - sorry to be the bearer of irritating news!

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:20 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,542
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstian View Post
this is a real showstopper. I could not see how this could be an improvement and who might want this kind of behaviour and additional key.
+1. Pro Tools has always been known for it's unified editing experience throughout the entire program. That's what made it Pro Tools back in the day. This just makes things very messy, and doesn't just impact post production. Many of the controls throughout the UI now have two fine control commands now. Why? Who at Avid signed off on this and thought it was a good thing?

I guess this was another top 10 Idea Scale request.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:35 PM
Basstian Basstian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 290
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
Ah I see, just tried it and you DO have to hold shift too now - sorry to be the bearer of irritating news!

Pete
and if you hold shift + command it is locked vertically?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:38 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,159
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

Yes
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:45 PM
Basstian Basstian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 290
Default Re: Fine Adjustment 12.6 = Showstopper

ok. this makes 12.6 useless. only vertical fine adjustment. and different modifierers tor fine adjustment in different tasks

who is deciding stuff like that?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fine Fader Adjustment On iPad? producedbyriot Pro Tools | Control 4 09-10-2016 01:00 PM
Fine Adjustment on AAX seems to be Broken? Neil Pickles AAX Plug-ins 4 06-07-2013 01:39 PM
fine adjustment of breakpoints not working levelaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-03-2010 06:42 AM
Fine volume adjustment gbours Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-02-2006 07:23 PM
Strip Silence and Fine Adjustment... Still a bug? SimpleNatureSpirit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2004 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com