Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2014, 05:16 AM
c4sK c4sK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Default KRK RP5 G3's into Creative X-Fi Titanium HD

I have just purchased the KRK Rokit RP5 G3 (x2) to use with my PC.... I have the Creative SB X-Fi Titanium HD sound card.

The guy in the speaker shop recommended I use an RCA > RCA cable. On one end of the cable I have the red RCA in the right hand speaker, and the white in the left. On the other end of the cable the red and white are going into the RCA sockets on my sound card.

I am getting A LOT of hum/looping/interference, especially when I open a program, move my mouse, type on my keyboard. Even when my HDD decides to work, I get loads of sound through my speakers. The sound is unbearable and I am almost at the point of taking advantage of the 7 day money back guarantee. However, I do not want to do this as they are very nice speakers and I wold like to try and overcome this problem.

After scouring the internet for the last day or so and attempting almost all the fixes suggested, I have come to the conclusion that I might need to lift the ground on my speakers (never done this before, audio noob here).

Can anyone point me in the right direction of what to do?

In case my explanation is poor, here is a link to describe the problem I am experiencing - http://www.viper007bond.com/2010/02/...comment-236263


Mainboard: P8P67 Deluxe
Processor: i7-2600k 4.5Ghz
Memory: DDR3 8GB
Videocard: GTX 690 4GB
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
Speakers: KRK RP5 G3 x 2

Any help would me most appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2014, 07:54 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,526
Default Re: KRK RP5 G3's into Creative X-Fi Titanium HD

Aside from your hum issue, I would recommend that you NOT connect the speakers directly to the sound card. IMO, this is a dangerous way to do it, as you could have full volume blasts sent to your speakers if there's ever a software/driver glitch.

What you need is one of these.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=monitor+controller
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2014, 06:36 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,746
Default Re: KRK RP5 G3's into Creative X-Fi Titanium HD

Creative products are (to me anyway) not really a "pro" product line and I would opt for a genuine interface(focusrite is one such brand). But having said that, it may be a ground loop. Are the speakers plugged into the same power strip as the computer? If not, try that first. I also give a +1 for having a controller(not that that will solve the issue). My next option would be to use a "quasi-balanced). That means you are feeding an unbalanced signal into a balanced input. This might solve a ground loop, but requires special cables(that you would probably have to build yourself). You start with a balanced cable with either TRS or XLR at the speaker end, cut off the connector at the other end, and solder on an RCA plug wired as follows: tip of the TRS(pin 2 of the XLR) goes to the RCA tip. ring of the TRS(pin 3 of the XLR) goes to the RCA shell. The shield at this end gets trimmed off and does not connect at this end. This creates a "floating ground" as the shield only connects at the speaker end(still doing its job). By NOT connecting thru, you break the ground loop. If you get a monitor controller(as suggested), use this special cable at the speaker end of the chain
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2014, 04:13 PM
Katherine_Focusrite's Avatar
Katherine_Focusrite Katherine_Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 159
Default Re: KRK RP5 G3's into Creative X-Fi Titanium HD

ART and Whirlwind make some great products for Ground Isolation.

See the Whirlwind Lifter, ART CleanBoxII, CleanBoxPro, DTI, etc.
__________________
Katherine Kaplan // Focusrite Technical Support

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/en/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
001 on Titanium G4?? vintageTube 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-08-2002 12:36 AM
G4 Titanium with SSD and PT Mix+ storymaster Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-27-2001 05:55 PM
G4 titanium JimmySingh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-22-2001 08:07 AM
Titanium PBerolz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 26 05-21-2001 12:22 AM
titanium g4 w/pt c.thorn Tips & Tricks 6 04-23-2001 01:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com