Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #481  
Old 12-15-2007, 07:13 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Mykhal I will send you the link if you need it.

If you've run Windows Update I beleive you should not neet to install the stand alone patch.

The easiest way to figure it out is to run the 7.4 installer and see if it installs
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #482  
Old 12-15-2007, 08:01 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Hey Sunburst,

The Digi Design approved cards where a bit more than $20-00 over here in Oz, more like $70-00. I did manage to find one for $55-00 and will be installed.

If you guys need help with PC sides of things I'm actually in IT so I can help out where needed.

Cheers
Any and All help is much appreciated This stuff is currently unapproved by Digi and they dont seem to be in any real hurry to approve it. We have to find ALL the solutions and extra heads are always needed

I default to Newegg pricing becuase its usually in stock and accessible to 99% of the people here in the states. The Newegg pages are also good becuase they a wealth of information and manfactures contact info, webpages and the like. So even if the person can't use it. They can use it to locate the stuff locally. I think pricing structure would hold true accross the board for CPUs, Mobos and the like.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #483  
Old 12-15-2007, 05:39 PM
bladesg bladesg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
the dram voltage is 2.3v.

Congrats on getting the thing going


2.3V is quite alot for DDR2 especially at stock speed. Are you sure you need this much juice to run at 1066?

What model Patriot memory is it?
thanks blade. this is what i'm runnin'... PATRIOT 1066

it's what the doc showed pls advise if i'm wrong.

also, what was the fix that is needed for 7.4??? thought it was KB921337???? can't seem to find it

thanks as always

EDIT: i did find this review by a NEWEGG customer... Lower Voltage than expected
Reviewed By: Tweaker on 5/23/2007 Tech Level: high - Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
Pros: Runs at stock speed (1066Mhz) at 1.95V w/o problems even in Battlefield 2142 (eVGA 680i SLI A1 mobo).
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: There are some negative comments at the eVGA 680i SLI A1 mobo reviews which say that the mobo burns this memory at 2.3V after a while. Yepp, can decrease voltage to 1.95V. At 2.3V mine overclocks to 1200MHz.


EDIT: just booted usin' 1.95v at 1066 with 5-5-5-9 but the lab is STILL in session!!!

blade, also what i did notice is that after the bios update my DRAM FREQ choices stopped at 1064 with the 0202 bios i selected 1067 with some OC choices in there did somethin' get reset in the bios that i'm missin'?? or is it maybe havin' trouble with the PATRIOT memory??? but even tho i'm selectin' 1064 in the bios CPU-Z does show i'm runnin' at 534.5. i know i'm probably missin' somethin'. and man, i got 3 different temp readings from 3 different programs go figure

EDIT: another question for ya blade i'm tryin' to grasp the concept of how to OC memory on the P5K Deluxe mobo and the more i read the more hazy it becomes. i know it's tied to the FSBRAM ratio but there is no selection in the bios (that i see) to make a choice. anyway, another 'build 101' class would be appreciated!!!
I was a little worried that the modules wouldn't last too long at 2.3V. Even if the PC becomes unstable with DRAM at 1.95V you shouldn't have any problems running the DRAM voltage 24/7 at somewhere between the 2.0 - 2.2 mark which is still mucb safer than 2.3.

In regards to the DRAM Freq at 1064, I wouldn't worry too much as this is exactly where the FSB should be at stock. CPU-Z shows a little more there with the 534.5 (which is DDR2 1069) which can only mean that ASUS have given these a bonus at stock speeds as your CPU speed probably reads at 2405MHz (267.5 x 9) instead of 2400MHz (266 x 9).

On page 8 of this very thread http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...7&fpart=8&vc=1

we talked about DRAM:FSB ratios and then a little further down the page we talked about how to OC the memory while keeping the CPU at the stock 2400MHz using lower multipliers with a higher FSB. Is this what you're after or have I been confused with your question about OC'ing the memory?

**disclaimer - If the above makes no sense it would be because of last nights xmas party
Reply With Quote
  #484  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:53 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
the dram voltage is 2.3v.

Congrats on getting the thing going


2.3V is quite alot for DDR2 especially at stock speed. Are you sure you need this much juice to run at 1066?

What model Patriot memory is it?
thanks blade. this is what i'm runnin'... PATRIOT 1066

it's what the doc showed pls advise if i'm wrong.

also, what was the fix that is needed for 7.4??? thought it was KB921337???? can't seem to find it

thanks as always

EDIT: i did find this review by a NEWEGG customer... Lower Voltage than expected
Reviewed By: Tweaker on 5/23/2007 Tech Level: high - Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
Pros: Runs at stock speed (1066Mhz) at 1.95V w/o problems even in Battlefield 2142 (eVGA 680i SLI A1 mobo).
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: There are some negative comments at the eVGA 680i SLI A1 mobo reviews which say that the mobo burns this memory at 2.3V after a while. Yepp, can decrease voltage to 1.95V. At 2.3V mine overclocks to 1200MHz.


EDIT: just booted usin' 1.95v at 1066 with 5-5-5-9 but the lab is STILL in session!!!

blade, also what i did notice is that after the bios update my DRAM FREQ choices stopped at 1064 with the 0202 bios i selected 1067 with some OC choices in there did somethin' get reset in the bios that i'm missin'?? or is it maybe havin' trouble with the PATRIOT memory??? but even tho i'm selectin' 1064 in the bios CPU-Z does show i'm runnin' at 534.5. i know i'm probably missin' somethin'. and man, i got 3 different temp readings from 3 different programs go figure

EDIT: another question for ya blade i'm tryin' to grasp the concept of how to OC memory on the P5K Deluxe mobo and the more i read the more hazy it becomes. i know it's tied to the FSBRAM ratio but there is no selection in the bios (that i see) to make a choice. anyway, another 'build 101' class would be appreciated!!!
I was a little worried that the modules wouldn't last too long at 2.3V. Even if the PC becomes unstable with DRAM at 1.95V you shouldn't have any problems running the DRAM voltage 24/7 at somewhere between the 2.0 - 2.2 mark which is still mucb safer than 2.3.

In regards to the DRAM Freq at 1064, I wouldn't worry too much as this is exactly where the FSB should be at stock. CPU-Z shows a little more there with the 534.5 (which is DDR2 1069) which can only mean that ASUS have given these a bonus at stock speeds as your CPU speed probably reads at 2405MHz (267.5 x 9) instead of 2400MHz (266 x 9).

On page 8 of this very thread http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...7&fpart=8&vc=1

we talked about DRAM:FSB ratios and then a little further down the page we talked about how to OC the memory while keeping the CPU at the stock 2400MHz using lower multipliers with a higher FSB. Is this what you're after or have I been confused with your question about OC'ing the memory?

**disclaimer - If the above makes no sense it would be because of last nights xmas party
blade, thanks again and yes that's what i'm after. i'll study it again, refresher course needed by the builder newbie!!! i'm still foggy right now on it tho. i think i'm lookin' for somethin' in the bios that's not there, a divider/multiplier of some sort to set the ratio. but i think what i'm gettin' from your earlier post is that memory OC will follow how one OC's the FSB!!????

the DRAM FREQ of 1064 was reset to 1067 when i changed the FSB STRAP from 'auto' to 266mhz. so evidently the bios update flipped it to auto.

anyway, learnin' a LOT and makin' progress!!!!
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #485  
Old 12-16-2007, 02:39 AM
bladesg bladesg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Yes, the 'strap' in the ASUS BIOS is what changes the FSBRAM ratio.
Reply With Quote
  #486  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:45 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Yes, the 'strap' in the ASUS BIOS is what changes the FSBRAM ratio.
cool. thanks again bro. i'm gonna be a bios freak before it's over!!!! but i won't be OC'g anythin' until i upgrade the cpu heatsink and fan!! what do you recommend???
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #487  
Old 12-16-2007, 03:02 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

I was wandering the vast wasteland of the internet last night and stumbled aross this.

Looks like it would be quiet and effective.

I can't get the damn link to work I'll mail it to you.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #488  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:11 PM
scifctn scifctn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
Default Re: New Spec

Quote:
Hey all,

Will be building my new PT rig in the next weeks. Im slowly accumulating parts-- heres the spec:

Case: Cooler Master CM 690 ($29.99 with rebate from new egg)

PSU: Cooler Master extreme 500w ($15.99 compusa thanksgiving sale)

Mobo: Abit IP35-E

CPU: g6600 G0 stepping
CPU fan: Thermaltake Big Kahuna (bought mobo/cpu/fan of craigslist for $325)

RAM: 4x 1gb OCZ platinum DDR2 800mhz (~$75 from new egg w/ rebates)

HDD: not sure yet, but have been very happy with my Samsung Spinpoint SATA drive here. (~$100)

Video: would like a shiny new nVidia 8800gt once the initial hype dies off and prices decline (Retail is $250)

FW: have an adaptec card laying around, should still work!

Total: Less than $800!!!!!!


I will let you know how the build goes, wish me luck
Well, Im installing windows XP now. Wish me luck!!!! will be running 3dmark06 and the d-verb test soon. I'll post results.
Reply With Quote
  #489  
Old 12-16-2007, 09:52 PM
scifctn scifctn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
Default Re: New Spec

Well got it up and running. For some reason though, it won't post with any Overclock to the cpu, even a light one....very strange.
Reply With Quote
  #490  
Old 12-16-2007, 11:07 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: New Spec

Quote:
Well got it up and running. For some reason though, it won't post with any Overclock to the cpu, even a light one....very strange.
I would get it stable and configured before you try any over clocking.

You should have no problem over-clocking it at some point

I think I had mine up to around 3.15 GHz briefly.

I would worry about PT first though.

Welcome to Quadville!
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 Builds - Specs and Results mykhal c Windows 6791 01-09-2020 04:41 AM
Intel Quad Core vs. i-series solidwalnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-23-2010 06:16 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 03:24 AM
are these specs ok? (low budget 2 core) korkman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-22-2008 03:44 AM
8 Core Mac Pro, Leopard and Windows results pasanta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-13-2008 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com