Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2006, 03:25 PM
donrey donrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 103
Default 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

I have not been successful at importing 32 bit float files. 32 bit float (16.8) is the Adobe standard, I would think PT 7.1 would be able to import it. Is protools able to import 32 bit float files?

This is the error I receive when importing 32bit (16.8):

Could not complete the Import Audio command because Assertion in "\code\riptide_Gershwin_III\AlturaPorts\NewFileLib s\Ff\Audio\Processing\FF_AuLine 150
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2006, 04:35 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

Pro Tools dose not see 32 bit files as a valid audio file.

You will ether need to have the files re-exported or use a file converting program to get them to a format that Pro Tools will see.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2006, 09:35 AM
donrey donrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 103
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

So there is no way to import a 32 bit float file directly into PT? There's no download that allows PT to recognize these files? If this is the case, I think this functionality should be added. Every other program I have recognizes this file type, including my quintessential media player.

Would it be a good idea to import into Wavelab or soundforge and then export as a 24 bit file? Would I loose any quality? Are there other better file converters out there?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2006, 02:11 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 810
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

hi,
there are no downloads to enable 32bit float reading. whenever i
get one of these, i use soundforge to convert it to 24bit ... and then
i load it into PT. soundforge will use tri-dither and i've never noticed
any difference in the sound quality myself.
jeff
__________________
Joe Barresi & Tony Shepperd Master Series
http://techbreakfast.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2006, 03:30 PM
donrey donrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 103
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

Does soundforge automatically use the dither feature or do you use the batch converter process to dither? What's the appropriate way?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2006, 04:09 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 810
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

my understanding is it does it either way (batch or File->Save As....).

jeff
__________________
Joe Barresi & Tony Shepperd Master Series
http://techbreakfast.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2006, 07:21 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

Hi!
Pro Tools HD/TDM is 48 bit fixed (for all intents and purposes...)
Therefore, it would not benefit from using 32-bit files. The only *real* benefit some see in this is to have the *original* file already in the format the app is running (currently, 32-bit float).

With all that in mind...PT simply does not need the feature..unless you want to use another app instead...comrade... just kidding!
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2006, 07:40 AM
donrey donrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 103
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

The only *real* benefit some see in this is to have the *original* file already in the format the app is running (currently, 32-bit float).

I don't follow. If I am exporting files at 32bit float shouldn't that make a difference in the quality? then when importing to PT they should sound better than if I exported to 16 bit, I would think.

With all that in mind...PT simply does not need the feature..unless you want to use another app instead...comrade... just kidding!

I wouldn't trade TDM for anything. Couldn't even if I wanted to, I wouldn't get all the money I spent on this damn system back
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:23 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

32-bit files benefit solely within the app. Since TDM is 48-bit fixed (and 24-bit as well- read the TDM MIxer whit epaper for more in depth info), 24-bit files would be the highest bit rate for any real world benefit.

There is a way to resolve, but it costs (unfortunately, and something I do NOT agree with): Digitranslator, and using AAF/OMF as an export from the other app, then import into PT.

As was mentioned, alternately, and for whole files, simply batch convert does the job. I cannot see how anything *tangible* would be lost in a convert from 32-bit to 24-bit.

As for import into PT: 24-bit or 16-bit will importfine. Which is better? Excellent question, and one with more than one answer. I prefer to work in 24-bit. Plenty of extra headroom, and it makes me feel more confident and happy, psychologically. That translates into better piece of mind, and thus one less thing to worry about.

Coming from 32-bit files, I would suggest 24-bit all the way. I work with Nuendo 3.2 occassionally, and I use 24-bit. I tried 32-bit, and heard no benefit. My ears, my time, my conclusion. YMMV, of course...and hopefully it does. Individuality is law one IMO.
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2006, 08:37 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 810
Default Re: 32bit float (16.8)/(.24) import PROBLEM

i agree with nikki-k .. i've used 32bit float wav files and i honestly
couldn't hear any difference between that and the 24 bit equivalent. and
probably with good reason. telling the difference between the ~190db of
dynamic range vs ~240db of dynamic range is likely going to be difficult to
detect for the typical program material which we work with. typical music
does not have anywhere near this dynamic range swing .... so you'll likely
not hear it.

in theory, you would only tell the difference if the tracks were massively
saturated and perhaps not even then. you're in the ear damage zone.

jeff
__________________
Joe Barresi & Tony Shepperd Master Series
http://techbreakfast.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording: 24bit vs. 32bit float WombatStudio.Org Tips & Tricks 55 10-05-2014 04:41 PM
Can old Accel TDM system handle 32bit float file format? bobo mark Pro Tools 10 3 10-21-2011 12:27 PM
Import Audio not working - PT 8 on Win7(32bit) Martine Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-29-2010 12:22 PM
The 32bit float advantage ptnerd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 11-19-2005 11:26 AM
24Bit Fixed Plug-in Buss Vs 32Bit Float Matt_G Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 08-02-2004 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com