Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-12-2015, 08:30 PM
latweek latweek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 113
Default Re: Protools 12 rock solid

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonsdeejay View Post
Hi, I just need my Money Back, I Upgrade to Pro Tools 12 from 11, and Pro Tools 12 Sucks, with a bunch of Crashes, So Today I uninstall Pro Tools 12 and I`m Install Pro Tools 11.3.1, Just Like that, So I WANT MY MONEY BACK. No Features that AVID Promises with Pro Tools 12. So I WANT MY MONEY BACK. Why AVID Sale Pro Tools with no Features Ready, I`m think is for AVID Money Issues????? I Don't care I WANT MY MONEY BACK.....

Cheers To People who's not All ready Upgrade!!!!! To Pro Tools 12!!!!!
Nononono, no, no! 'PT 12's resting!

DEAD PARROT SKETCH
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-12-2015, 10:26 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: Protools 12 rock solid

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Of course they aren't, but from my perspective PT12 FEELS more solid than PT11 ever did. And with that said, I was very happy with PT11 too, compared to PT9/PT10. I'm hoping there will be a feature upgrade that gives us something tanglible *AND* make the software feel as solid as PT8.1.1 & OSX10.6.8 combination. For me, that has been the Pinnacle of PT stability so far.
Have to agree, I've had it running daily and it seems really solid.

TH
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-12-2015, 10:32 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,508
Default Re: Protools 12 rock solid

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbass View Post
Do you ever read your own posts and think about you are saying?
Do you FEEL that I should do that more often? :)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-13-2015, 07:09 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Protools 12 rock solid

I've been running it for about a week now and it's exactly the same for me. No snappier, no faster, no less buggy, or more buggy. It's, well... the same as it ever was. I did have a crash out to the desktop with a log generated and sent to AVID. It happened when I closed the MIDI window after some edits. This is on a 5.1 cheesgrater with 10.8.5. Tomorrow I'm getting my trashcan back and it will go on that with Yosemite 10.10.2...back to the bleeding edge, much trepidation.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-13-2015, 07:59 AM
TonyFlyingSquirrel's Avatar
TonyFlyingSquirrel TonyFlyingSquirrel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Auburn, Wa.
Posts: 102
Default Re: Protools 12 rock solid

Just basic learning curve related stuff for me as I am recent to converting to Mac in the last few months, and coming from Sonar on a PC.

Other than that, it's ran flawlessly.
__________________
"Bite off more than you can chew, then start chewing".
Apple iMac 27-inch 3.4GHz Quad-core i7 (Mid 2011)OS X 10.9.5 (13F34)Memory 32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3, Hard Drive:1.0TB HDD + 256GB SSD
Optical Drive:SuperDrive-DL
Video Card:AMD Radeon HD 6970M-1024 MB, Audio Interface: Avid Fast Track Duo
Midi I/O: Arturia, (The Laboratory 49), V-Collection 3 & 4, Beta Tester for V-5 & Analog Lab 2.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-13-2015, 08:06 AM
ShiftStudios ShiftStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toowoomba, QLD, Australia
Posts: 282
Default Re: Protools 12 rock solid

I think the thing that made the biggest difference for me was moving from OS X to Windows. I've been using my Windows based PC now for almost 3 weeks and not a single hiccup anywhere. So from my perspective, PT 12 is rock solid, but so was 11 on Windows. The other bonus, all the software for all my hardware that wouldn't work properly in OS X, now works flawlessly along-side my interface software and my DAW in Windows.

For everyone having no end of problem on Mac and Pro Tools, maybe a Windows based PC is in order? You can get them with Firewire and Thunderbolt these days. :)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-13-2015, 08:18 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,292
Default Re: Protools 12 rock solid

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Does it really matter, actually should that be a major touting point for avid that ProTools 12 is rock solid?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
And they're celebrating, their success with a supposedly stable operating system in HD 12.

A link please. Some sort of evidence that this is what AVID themselves are stating. There's no mention of any "rock solid" stuff on their main page: http://www.avid.com/US/products/Pro-Tools-Software
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rock Solid DAW needed Tracy Lowery 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 01-09-2011 04:34 PM
Looking For Rock Solid PT System Camilo Orozco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-21-2007 06:59 PM
ROCK SOLID! GORILLA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-05-2007 07:39 AM
Rock Solid Performance Adagio12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-29-2005 08:45 AM
Not a Rant. Looking for Rock Solid G4's smlworld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 08-22-2000 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com