Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2015, 03:17 PM
DBK DBK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 213
Default Leave Pt running or continuous reboots?

just a quick question, was curious whats better on the system and my hard drives. Leaving PT on Idle/in use for 12 hours or quitting it and and rebooting the entire system 5 times roughly in that 12 hours?

I know drives usually wreck when they're being spun up and I'm noticing my drive has been having connection issues lately, at least thats what I'm assuming because kontakt keeps losing samples. And ive been stopping and starting PT a lot, pretty much whenever I take a 30-60 minute break.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2015, 03:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,025
Default Re: Leave Pt running or continuous reboots?

I will leave PT open all day, but I never leave a session open if I am gone more than 30 minutes
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2015, 03:46 PM
peter5992 peter5992 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Leave Pt running or continuous reboots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBK View Post
just a quick question, was curious whats better on the system and my hard drives. Leaving PT on Idle/in use for 12 hours or quitting it and and rebooting the entire system 5 times roughly in that 12 hours?

I know drives usually wreck when they're being spun up and I'm noticing my drive has been having connection issues lately, at least thats what I'm assuming because kontakt keeps losing samples. And ive been stopping and starting PT a lot, pretty much whenever I take a 30-60 minute break.
You might consider getting a new drive before the thing goes completely belly up (and make backups now!).

I leave PT running until I shut it all down for the night.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2015, 05:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,025
Default Re: Leave Pt running or continuous reboots?

All hard drives should be set to never sleep or spin down
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2015, 10:21 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,659
Default Re: Leave Pt running or continuous reboots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBK View Post
just a quick question, was curious whats better on the system and my hard drives. Leaving PT on Idle/in use for 12 hours or quitting it and and rebooting the entire system 5 times roughly in that 12 hours?

I know drives usually wreck when they're being spun up and I'm noticing my drive has been having connection issues lately, at least thats what I'm assuming because kontakt keeps losing samples. And ive been stopping and starting PT a lot, pretty much whenever I take a 30-60 minute break.
Albee's advice is good...if you are going to be gone for any decent length of time, closing your session is a good idea. Quitting PT is unnecessary.

My Mac is on 24/7, although the screen saver goes on when I go to bed. I've been doing this for many years, through many Macs. And you are right in that whenever I've had a drive die, it has been on boot up.

TH
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2015, 07:42 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,899
Default Re: Leave Pt running or continuous reboots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBK View Post
just a quick question, was curious whats better on the system and my hard drives. Leaving PT on Idle/in use for 12 hours or quitting it and and rebooting the entire system 5 times roughly in that 12 hours?

I know drives usually wreck when they're being spun up and I'm noticing my drive has been having connection issues lately, at least thats what I'm assuming because kontakt keeps losing samples. And ive been stopping and starting PT a lot, pretty much whenever I take a 30-60 minute break.
Let the computer run all day and only shut down at night or when you go to bed. My systems starts up in the morning and runs all day, peripherals included. If you shut down peripherals but leave the computer running you can/will lose communication between the computer and peripherals and the computer might not see things when you turn them back on. Been there, had that happen. If I'm gone for like an hour I save/close the session, quit PT, and put the screen to sleep.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2015, 10:40 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,025
Default Re: Leave Pt running or continuous reboots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Let the computer run all day and only shut down at night or when you go to bed. My systems starts up in the morning and runs all day, peripherals included. If you shut down peripherals but leave the computer running you can/will lose communication between the computer and peripherals and the computer might not see things when you turn them back on. Been there, had that happen. If I'm gone for like an hour I save/close the session, quit PT, and put the screen to sleep.
Hmm, was under the impression that SLEEP should never be used on a PT machine In any case, I recommend everyone connect the computer, screen and drives to a UPS(battery backup). At some point, it will save your aSSets
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2015, 02:54 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,899
Default Re: Leave Pt running or continuous reboots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Hmm, was under the impression that SLEEP should never be used on a PT machine In any case, I recommend everyone connect the computer, screen and drives to a UPS(battery backup). At some point, it will save your aSSets
I don't let the computer sleep - just the monitor. There's a difference. With the screen sleeping the system is still live. I do that all the time when I'm doing clones; sleep the screen while the system does it's thing.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD/CD ROM REBOOTS COMP c1schecter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-29-2007 12:07 PM
Pro Tools 6.1 Reboots... voorzorro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-12-2003 03:59 PM
6.1 reboots while loading in XP! Help!!! bcdigidesign75 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-26-2003 06:28 PM
continuous controller ain't so continuous dummy20707 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-17-2003 06:42 PM
XP Reboots Maxz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-26-2002 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com