Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2018, 02:46 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,916
Default What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

I’m new to Macs and with the recent purchase of a Mac Pro I love the reliability of it compared to my window machines I’ve used in the past. This has now sent me on the hunt for a Mac Book Pro. I will be just editing my ProTools10HD sessions on it Comping vocals editing/correcting timing issues and stuff like that etc, when away from the studio.

What would you guys recommend for this and what should I look for when purchasing one.

Thanks in advance


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2018, 05:53 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,053
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
I’m new to Macs and with the recent purchase of a Mac Pro I love the reliability of it compared to my window machines I’ve used in the past. This has now sent me on the hunt for a Mac Book Pro. I will be just editing my ProTools10HD sessions on it Comping vocals editing/correcting timing issues and stuff like that etc, when away from the studio.

What would you guys recommend for this and what should I look for when purchasing one.

Thanks in advance


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Your problem is going to be the OSX that is on whatever computer you get won't run or even allow the install of PT10. Most current Macs with the exception of the new iMac Pro won't allow the install of anything that will allow PT10 to run. The latest version of OSX that will run PT10 is OSX 10.9.5; the only reason it's not an Avid's compatibility list is because the uninstaller doesn't work. See this page http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2018, 05:55 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

Is it not possible to wipe hard drive and load whatever OSX on it I want like I did with my Mac Pro???


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2018, 07:53 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,515
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

Try and find a MacBook Pro 15-inch, Mid 2012 model.

It can run 10.9.5, and it has USB3, Firewire 800, Thunderbolt, and a CD/DVD burner all on one machine. You can even make it dual boot, with a newer OS (such as Sierra) on the other partition. Install an SSD, and it will perform extremely well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:51 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,053
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Is it not possible to wipe hard drive and load whatever OSX on it I want like I did with my Mac Pro???


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Maybe but I'd not depend on that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2018, 09:15 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,515
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

https://www.macworld.com/article/205...all-drive.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2018, 09:29 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

I have both Lion and Maverick bootable USB’s from installing on my Mac Pro


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2018, 02:04 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,053
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
I have both Lion and Maverick bootable USB’s from installing on my Mac Pro


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Are you talking about a ram stick? Those are never meant to run anything from.
You really don't want to use any kind of external drive to boot from on a regular basis - those are for emergencies/installations/reinstallations.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2018, 02:10 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,916
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Are you talking about a ram stick? Those are never meant to run anything from.
You really don't want to use any kind of external drive to boot from on a regular basis - those are for emergencies/installations/reinstallations.


Yeah for installations only


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2018, 02:24 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,053
Default Re: What Mac book Pro to run PT10??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Yeah for installations only


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If I understand things you haven't actually purchased the MBP yet right? If so take a look at OWC - they have used/refurbished MBP's https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/Appl...ed/MacBook-Pro
There are several that have the i7 cpu which is a good thing. Most are 2010 models which originally came with Lion. Not sure what will ship but when I got my cheesegrater from them it had Sierra; was able to wipe that out and install Yosemite. So if form holds you should be able to put on OSX 10.8.5 or OSX 10.9.5 both of which work quite well with PT10.3.10
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfering PT10 studio session/API1608 to PT10/MOTU 896MK3? scorchedwave Pro Tools 10 1 06-29-2015 01:57 AM
Session share issue, PT10 Mac to PT10 express PC Big Mother Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 04-16-2013 07:03 AM
PT10 HD system can't cope with session created in PT10 (LE) LizS Pro Tools 10 19 07-27-2012 03:46 PM
Red Book VS. Orange Book>>what's the difference? dex Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 10-22-1999 10:51 AM
Red Book VS Orange Book>>what's the difference? dex Tips & Tricks 0 10-19-1999 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com