Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2020, 11:35 AM
hugoleitao hugoleitao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 50
Default S3 Oled/fader replacement?

5 of my S3 Oled displays are now barely visible and becoming useless after 3 years of regular use. I also have two fader cracking constantly and failing to write automation properly, already tried proper fader lube but it didn't help much.

Does anyone had fader's and Oled's replaced after warranty expired? What is the right procedure in Europe? Should I send my unit back to my reseller or should I replace those parts myself?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6646.jpg (62.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6648.jpg (55.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6653.jpg (27.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6650.jpg (36.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2020, 12:44 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: S3 Oled/fader replacement?

The faders are easy and cheap to replace. Avid will sell you the faders and give you a doc with three pictures. You unscrew the hex screws above and below the offending faders, flip the S3 over on a soft surface and take off the back panel. Each fader comes out with one PCB connection. 5-10 minutes of work. I think the faders are available direct from a parts company as well.

With the OLEDs, I don't know.

Good luck!
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2020, 02:24 PM
hugoleitao hugoleitao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 50
Default Re: S3 Oled/fader replacement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
The faders are easy and cheap to replace. Avid will sell you the faders and give you a doc with three pictures. You unscrew the hex screws above and below the offending faders, flip the S3 over on a soft surface and take off the back panel. Each fader comes out with one PCB connection. 5-10 minutes of work. I think the faders are available direct from a parts company as well.

With the OLEDs, I don't know.

Good luck!
Great! I thought something more complicated. Hope someone chime in regarding the Oled's.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command8 fader replacement mparkinson ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 02-14-2020 04:52 PM
S6 fader replacement leopod Avid S6 1 06-27-2018 06:47 PM
OLED Channel Name / Fader Value preference teedeecee Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 8 04-15-2018 11:32 AM
Replacement fader stainless ICON & C|24 2 01-13-2010 04:42 AM
Help with fader replacement Ayrik ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 01-08-2004 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com