Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2013, 07:41 AM
drumzalicious drumzalicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 305
Default Tracks record ahead of beat?

Hey everyone. I'm familiar with setting playback buffers and stuff in order to have as little latency as possible. However recently I've been paying closer attention and realizing tracks are playing back just a tad ahead of where I played them. These are instrument tracks and live audio tracks. When recording everything is LOCKED. However on playback things are a tad ahead. Any suggestions? My buffer usually is at 128 when recording.

This is something I've noticed in Pro Tools 10 and 11.

Thanks
__________________

Mid 2011 Mac Mini
2.3 GHz i5
8 GB DDR3 RAM
OSX 10.10.5
MBox 3
Pro Tools 12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2013, 07:50 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,549
Default Re: Tracks record ahead of beat?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumzalicious View Post
Hey everyone. I'm familiar with setting playback buffers and stuff in order to have as little latency as possible. However recently I've been paying closer attention and realizing tracks are playing back just a tad ahead of where I played them. These are instrument tracks and live audio tracks. When recording everything is LOCKED. However on playback things are a tad ahead. Any suggestions? My buffer usually is at 128 when recording.

This is something I've noticed in Pro Tools 10 and 11.

Thanks
Hi,

So these instrument tracks is it midi you are talking about here? or have you bounced to audio.

Do you have delay compensation turned on?

What is your routing from the instrument tracks to the left/right output



Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2013, 08:14 AM
drumzalicious drumzalicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 305
Default Re: Tracks record ahead of beat?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

So these instrument tracks is it midi you are talking about here? or have you bounced to audio.

Do you have delay compensation turned on?

What is your routing from the instrument tracks to the left/right output



Chris
The instrument tracks are midi. Others are live audio via DI. Like some guitar stuff with Amp Sims.

Delay Compensation is on. It's on the lowest setting.
__________________

Mid 2011 Mac Mini
2.3 GHz i5
8 GB DDR3 RAM
OSX 10.10.5
MBox 3
Pro Tools 12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2013, 08:22 PM
drumzalicious drumzalicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 305
Default Re: Tracks record ahead of beat?

Bump
__________________

Mid 2011 Mac Mini
2.3 GHz i5
8 GB DDR3 RAM
OSX 10.10.5
MBox 3
Pro Tools 12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2013, 03:36 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Tracks record ahead of beat?

To quote Chris...

Quote:
What is your routing from the instrument tracks to the left/right output
IOW - what's the signal chain from the virtual instrument to your interface? Do you get the same result if you record with ADC off?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2020, 11:19 AM
rwhitney rwhitney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Irvine, California, USA
Posts: 117
Default Re: Tracks record ahead of beat?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumzalicious View Post
Hey everyone. I'm familiar with setting playback buffers and stuff in order to have as little latency as possible. However recently I've been paying closer attention and realizing tracks are playing back just a tad ahead of where I played them. These are instrument tracks and live audio tracks. When recording everything is LOCKED. However on playback things are a tad ahead. Any suggestions? My buffer usually is at 128 when recording.

This is something I've noticed in Pro Tools 10 and 11.

Thanks
I've experienced the same thing in every version of Pro Tools from the early 2000s on, including the current 20.3.0.163. I have to shift everything I play ahead some milliseconds to match the beat.
__________________
Ross Whitney
rwhitney@uci.edu
Macbook Pro 2.16 GHz (OS 10.5.6) / Apple Xeon 2x2 dual-core (OS 10.5.6) 6 GB
RAM w/PT-LE 8.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Instruments playing AHEAD of the beat ansanity macOS 13 06-08-2018 07:09 AM
MIDI Records Ahead of the Beat. Schn57 macOS 35 01-16-2014 11:58 AM
Ahead of the beat stoox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-04-2008 06:10 PM
midi records ahead of the beat? trekkiemonster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-15-2007 07:57 AM
upgraded to PT7.3 - now REASON is 1 beat AHEAD? awritersparadise 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-25-2007 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com