Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2010, 01:23 PM
jjablecki jjablecki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows 7 64 bit - insanity defined

Hi everyone,

Like many others I have persevered through countless hours of insanity-defining activity in an effort to get PT8 running on Windows 7. I am no computer or PT guru, but I’ve been reading these posts for months now and have decided to post my SANDRA as a last ditch effort to see if someone out there savvier than I can find something meaningful.

The brief history:
• Purchased brand new Win7 machine a few months ago specifically for Pro Tools (SANDRA below)
• Purchased brand new Mbox2 (not pro)
• Read all of the Avid documentation about installing the Win7 beta drivers, and did so. The result was the intense feedback that many others have experienced
• I then read that some users have successfully gotten it to work without the 8.0.4 drivers, so I uninstalled and diligently followed instructions for this type of install. The result was clean recording and playback, however I could not make it more than a few seconds without receiving a “909x held off interrupts for too long” error
• I then spent a few weeks chasing windows 7 performance settings, purchasing dedicated hard drives, yet never getting the H/W buffer size errors resolved
• Last Thursday, I once again tried to install the 8.0.4 driver. This time I had clean audio during playback of my input devices (no feedback) but I could not get any monitoring of the mix regardless of the “mix” knob position and I had buffer underflow errors popping up.
• Still searching for answers I found a “Protools LE8 on Windows 7 setup tutorial” PDF document that others apparently had success with, which diligently walked through the specifics of completely uninstalling and then reinstalling PT8 (which notably did not include the beta driver). I followed every step and I now once again have clean playback, but I can’t go 10 seconds without hitting an error that says interrupts were held off too long and the H/W buffer size should be increased.

I’m partially tempted to install the 8.0.4 beta driver again but that would only be trying the same thing again while expecting different results.

Here’s my SANDRA. I’m open to any and all advice, even it if points out that my hardware is the problem – I just want to know why it’s not working.

Computer
Model : HP-Pavilion NY599AAR-ABA e9237c

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
Speed : 2.5GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : PEGATRON CORPORATION Eureka3
BIOS : AMI 5.07 07/06/2009
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR2 DDR3

Chipset
Model : HP P45/P43/G45/G43 DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 333MHz (1.33GHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR2 DDR3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 533MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Samsung M378B5673EH1-CH9 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Samsung M378B5673EH1-CH9 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Samsung M378B5673EH1-CH9 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Samsung M378B5673EH1-CH9 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 4650 (320 SM4.1 600MHz, 1GB DDR3 2x500MHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 4650 (320SP 8C 600MHz, 1GB 500MHz)

Storage Devices
ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ) : 932GB (C:) (D:)
ST3500418AS (500.1GB, USB/SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (K:)
Generic-Compact Flash (USB) : N/A (G:)
Generic-SM/xD-Picture (USB) : N/A (H:)
Generic-SD/MMC (USB) : N/A (I:)
Generic-MS/MS-Pro (USB) : N/A (J:)
hp DVD-RAM GH40L (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 8GB (E:)
ATAPI BD O DH4O3S (SATA150, BD-R, DVD+-R, CD-R, 2MB Cache) : N/A (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
SYSTEM : 100MB (NTFS)
FreeAgent (K:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ ST3500418AS (500.1GB, USB/SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
HP (C:) : 919GB (NTFS) @ ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ)
FACTORY_IMG (D:) : 12GB (NTFS) @ ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ)
Removable Drive (G:) : N/A @ Generic-Compact Flash (USB)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ Generic-SM/xD-Picture (USB)
Removable Drive (I:) : N/A @ Generic-SD/MMC (USB)
Removable Drive (J:) : N/A @ Generic-MS/MS-Pro (USB)
Pro Tools LE (E:) : 8GB (CDFS) @ hp DVD-RAM GH40L (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ ATAPI BD O DH4O3S (SATA150, BD-R, DVD+-R, CD-R, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : HP LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Asus F8000
Audio Device : HP HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semiconductor 888 High Definition Audio
Audio Device : MSI RV730XT Audio device [Radeon HD 4670]
Audio Codec : ATI (AMD) AA01h
Disk Controller : HP 4 port SATA IDE Controller
USB Controller 1 : HP USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : HP USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : HP USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : HP USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : HP USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : HP USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : HP USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : HP USB EHCI Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : LogMeIn Printer Driver (600x600)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Brother MFC-8670DN (1200x1200)

Peripherals
Media Player : ()
Media Player : ()
Media Player : ()
Media Player : ()

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)
Wireless Adapter 1 : Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Network Module (802.11n (HT), 150Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2010, 01:26 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,651
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows 7 64 bit - insanity defined

Insanity perhaps better defined as "BETA." Most of us who need this to be reliable are avoiding this til it's actually READY.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2010, 01:38 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,107
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows 7 64 bit - insanity defined

Be sure to disable the wireless when running Pro Tools.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2010, 02:34 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows 7 64 bit - insanity defined

have you run the the DPC checker?
http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2010, 02:48 PM
jjablecki jjablecki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows 7 64 bit - insanity defined

I truly almost have tears-of-joy as I say this but I disabled the wireless adapter after Tom's reply and have successfully recorded tracks to two full sessions. This has not been possible before on the new machine, so I am extremely grateful.

I did run the latency checker also prior to my posting, and it came back all-clear. I never once though, in all of my trials disabled the wireless network card. That's probably a foolish oversight but I'm ecstatic it was pointed out, so thanks to all of you for reading my post and offering help, and disable those wireless adapters if you have them

- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2010, 02:55 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows 7 64 bit - insanity defined

good deal1
+1000 for major Tom
Wireless adapters are setup to constantly search for new connections all the time and interrupt the processor constantly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2010, 03:10 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,107
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows 7 64 bit - insanity defined

Glad to hear it's working.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-03-2011, 10:59 AM
markwells markwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Victoria
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8 on Windows 7 64 bit - insanity defined

I truly do have tears of joy. Thank you very much for the "disable the wireless" tip. I have spent 3 weeks trying to get LE working on 64 bit Windows 7. The playback was crashing constantly...It would take me 3 re-boots of the computer to just play back a simple live acoustic recording.

I also added a second drive to use for Pro Tools. I already knew this, but the computer salesman told me he used Pro Tools and did not have to do that. Do not listen to salesmen on comission. Get the second drive. Having that second drive helped me when my last computer bit the dust. I still had my old recordings from LE 7. Cool!

Anyway, just to be clear on the symptoms that I experienced and lead me to this forumn post. The following happened:

1) Playback timeline would continue but sound would drop out
2) After the playback dropped out, Pro Tools was unresponsive and needed a to have a forced shutdown. The forced shutdown of Pro Tools also meant a reboot of the computer.

It has been quite the haul getting this thing going and I have not fully tested the fix. But I can tell you that I have played my simple recording at least 6 times now and it has been successful each time. Previously, it would sometimes play all the way through but mostly it would stop halfway through (requiring the reboot).

I'll keep you posted if more problems in this area arise.

Thanks again.

Mark

PS: The Avid support sucks. We should not have to pay to create support tickets and get help for a product that we paid good money for but does not work on advertised "supported systems" without significant changes. I am a software developer and always support my products free of charge.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Select Multiple Notes In A Defined Position DoubleG MIDI 2 10-18-2011 10:58 AM
Trim Out Regions By Defined Amount/Import Audio To Single Track pfo Tips & Tricks 3 03-18-2010 08:51 AM
Recording going beyond defined measures DonaldM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-22-2008 12:43 PM
Windows on Macbook pro Buffer errors driving me to insanity rickk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 08-14-2007 04:25 PM
6.7cs7/OSX10.3.7No user defined Keyboard shortcuts hanz marathon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 01-23-2005 02:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com