Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2010, 08:26 PM
AxeDye AxeDye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverside, CA USA
Posts: 281
Default saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

other than the liquid pre's are the pre's the same?

Is the latency any different?

Overall question, which one do you think? I mean the amount I can save with going for the 40 is insane but I am not trying to be cheap I do want the better one and really my only concern that would make either better is if it sounds better.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2010, 08:44 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

The 6 mic pres (3-8) on the Liquid Saffire 56 are the same as the 8 mic pres on the Saffire Pro 40. The two Liquid mic pres are pretty good emulations of 10 highly regarded mic pres (Neve, Avalon, Universal Audio, Manley, Focusrite Red, etc.) if you're interested. Some people buy this unit for those two channels alone. It is always good to have some variety of mic pres for different purposes. You also get another set of ADAT ports (8in/8out). These can come in handy if you take advantage of SMUX for higher sample rates over optical connectors.

Latency is the same.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2010, 08:59 PM
AxeDye AxeDye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverside, CA USA
Posts: 281
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

thanks for the quick reply, yeah I think I am going to stick with the liquid saffire, refurbished units are only $700
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2010, 10:27 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

You can get a new Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 unit at B&H for $749. It is $999 everywhere else.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:06 PM
rickthestick rickthestick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 141
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

OD, did you get yours yet? Mine works perfectly with PT9 and I'm happy with my choice. It will be nice when we can access the device directly from PT when the software is released in Jan.
Are you the same OD from the Mackie HDR forums?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2010, 09:35 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickthestick View Post
OD, did you get yours yet? Mine works perfectly with PT9 and I'm happy with my choice. It will be nice when we can access the device directly from PT when the software is released in Jan.
Are you the same OD from the Mackie HDR forums?
My unit should be here late this week (ordered last Friday). I understand there is a little futzing around needed with the software mixer initially. I'm also looking forward to the Focusrite plugin interface application being released in January.

I was on the Mackie HDR/MDR/SDR forum several years ago under the same handle (Obsidian Dragon) so, Yes, that was me. I made the change from stand alone hard disk recorders to Protools about 8 years ago and have not looked back. I still have my Mackie SDR in a rack. For what it was, I was able to get 24 simultaneours inputs at 96KHz back then which is pretty impressive compared to the DAW's of that time. I still remember rolling my own hard drives in the caddies.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2010, 05:21 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

It turns out West LA Music didn't order it for me until Monday so I'm still waiting for my Liquid Saffire 56. I just hate waiting.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-03-2010, 05:40 PM
rickthestick rickthestick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 141
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

It will just be that much better when it does show up. Hang in there.

I'm just now making the transition from the Mackie HDR (a great machine with 10 years of dependable service) with the arrival of PT9. I've been using the HDR to track, then moving it over to PT for mixing with the 003. It just wasn't stable enough and also lacking good pres and enough inputs for tracking full groups.

PT9 has changed all that and I'm excited about doing it on my new system. I built a 980x system with Win 7, SSD and 12GB RAM. It just smokes!

I love the LS56. Totally stable with PT9. I wish I could say the same for the 003. Half the time it just freezes and all I have is a big dongle. I can continue to use PT with the mouse but that is not why I spent 2K on the 003. Sucks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-08-2010, 08:11 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

I got my Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 today! I can't wait to get it hooked up and give it a workout.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2010, 05:19 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,013
Default Re: saffire pro 40 vs liquid saffire 56

Hey Rick, do you have an email so I can contact you about your 980x?

Thanks!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt 10+ liquid saffire 56+ saffire pro 40 masterclock? Nightworker Pro Tools 10 16 12-08-2012 10:29 PM
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 muzicmaken Pro Tools 10 0 03-31-2012 09:17 PM
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 YYR123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-12-2011 11:31 AM
PT9/003 Factory/Liquid Saffire 56? Judicious macOS 6 07-20-2011 09:00 AM
liquid saffire 56 AxeDye Pro Tools 9 2 11-19-2010 04:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com