Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-21-2016, 12:57 PM

Default Critique this mobile rig

I'm planning a mobile rig for recording live gigs. I need 32 channels of simultaneous 96k recording with a hard disk backup. Here's what I'm considering:

1 Protools Native PCIe
2 Protools HD I/O
1 Tascam DA-6400
1 Avid SYNC HD (is this necessary?)
32 ch. Presonus DigiMax DP88
1 MacBook Pro

Am I missing anything? I'm new to the HDX setup and I want to make sure this can give me what I need. FYI audio will be used for video productions. Any advice or critique is appreciated. thanks!
Old 09-21-2016, 01:07 PM

Default Re: Critique this mobile rig

You don't need the Sync, because clock is transfered from ADAT outputs to the Tascam recorder. That is, unless you also record video for reference, then you might want to sync to the video rig.

However, that setup of yours is not a bullet-proof backup. If your Presonus rig fails, neither system gets a signal. So for a real backup you would need a splitter on analog side of things and two sets of preamps, one for PT and another for Tascam, totalling 64 preamps. And even then those should get power from separate sources. Also, if your PT interfaces fail, then your preamps lose their master clock, which means your backup is also screwed.

EDIT: and for what it's worth, I wouldn't use anything that uses power bricks on a mission critical setup
Old 09-21-2016, 01:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You don't need the Sync, because clock is transfered from ADAT outputs to the Tascam recorder. That is, unless you also record video for reference, then you might want to sync to the video rig.