Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2019, 11:43 AM
ToneSetter ToneSetter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: SLC
Posts: 48
Default Mixing Console

I'm wanting to get into hybrid mixing so I've been looking at the Allen & Heath GL3300. Would this be a good choice or should I be looking at something different and if so what would you recommend? I only have about $1500 that's why I've been looking at the GL3300 and not the GL4000. I'd like at least a 32 channel but 40 channel prefered. Thanks for all input
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2019, 12:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Mixing Console

Old dog's advice; Skip the mixer and stay in the box. Why? Well, consider.....
1-you open a huge can of worms regarding routing, phasing and latency.
2-no mixer in your price range will "improve" your mixes(spend $10K on a vintage Neve broadcast mixer, or spend $40K on a used SSL, and maybe you will hear an improvement.....MAYBE)
3-Its not a piece of hardware(a cheap piece at that) that's going to give you better results; its going to be you, with more experience and skill.
4-there are dozens of better EQ plugins than what's on any budget mixer. If its all about pushing faders, grab a controller like an Artist Mix, a Presonus Faderport8(or 16) or hold out for the Avid S1 that's coming out in a few months.
5-spend that $1500 on better speakers and room treatment, so you don't make poor mix adjustments based on not hearing accurate playback Or spend the money on a great channel strip(Warm Audio 273-EQ and WA-2A?) so you record better source audio
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2019, 03:34 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,830
Default Re: Mixing Console

What Dave said! (Albee)

That A&H is more a live desk and doesn’t sound great at all.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:05 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,522
Default Re: Mixing Console

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
4-there are dozens of better EQ plugins than what's on any budget mixer. If its all about pushing faders, grab a controller like an Artist Mix, a Presonus Faderport8(or 16) or hold out for the Avid S1 that's coming out in a few months.
Apologies for going a little sideways but has there been any ballpark price put out for the S1?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2019, 05:44 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Mixing Console

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Apologies for going a little sideways but has there been any ballpark price put out for the S1?
Retail $1299 is what I have seen
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2019, 09:47 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,522
Default Re: Mixing Console

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Retail $1299 is what I have seen
Thanks
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing with a console Jt06 Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 7 03-13-2017 04:09 PM
Must we use a mixing console after I/O? Rockman413 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 10-10-2014 09:31 PM
Mixing Console jim2step Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-17-2004 09:43 AM
mixing console for 001 rose 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 31 05-27-2002 03:27 AM
mixing out of PT with a console blake eat world Tips & Tricks 15 08-17-2001 05:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com