Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2019, 01:31 PM
busk busk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Hopatcong
Posts: 13
Default Transferring ptx file

I put a copy of a ptx file on a memory stick and went from one iMac to another. I got this message - "This session is saved on a volume set to "transfer" only. If permitted, set the volume in question to "P" playback or "R" record in the workspace. Otherwise choose OK to save a copy of this session and its media to a valid playback volume. The session copy will automatically open from the chosen location."

????? I've got no clue what they mean about setting the volume to "P" or "R".

I chose OK and the only track I can hear is the click. What's going on?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2019, 02:03 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,060
Default Re: Transferring ptx file

Open the workspace in pro tools (Window > New Workspace > Default) go to Volumes in your left column. Look to the right pane and find your drive. Change the permissions from T to P or R by clicking on the letter.

This is all in the user manual (which is searchable.)

Memory sticks are a bad place to use for anything but transfers. Playback/record is mostly too slow. (This is different from ssd external flash drives which are fast enough)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2019, 06:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Transferring ptx file

The reason you hear nothing but click is because that is the only thing included IN the ptx file. You need to copy the entire session file. The ptx file is information, but no audio
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opening or transferring a wav file into a new Pro Tools Session Lou21 macOS 6 02-19-2013 01:58 PM
Transferring PT 10 from one Mac to another chuck44 macOS 2 02-15-2013 11:02 AM
Transferring DLSounds Post - Surround - Video 7 03-07-2007 09:19 AM
PC>Mac Pro Tools LE file transferring hubbellclef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-05-2002 12:09 AM
Transferring WIN to MAC jpd52 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-20-2002 12:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com