Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2019, 06:13 PM
clonewar clonewar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 5
Default Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

I have a smooth running PT Ultimate / HDN setup on a powerful Windows workstation (HP Z820, 24 core, Win 10 Pro), but am considering moving to HDX2 to access more hardware I/O. This is mainly for mixing, only a little tracking. I use a lot of outboard hardware via inserts and am hitting the 64 I/O limit and would like to add more Symphony or Avid I/O boxes.

I know the differences between HDN and HDX, what I'm wondering is if there are any downsides or gotchas in moving to HDX. Is stability generally the same between both platforms. I've read about issues when mixing DSP and native plugins, but assuming I used all native plugins and hardware inserts should I expect any issues?

On the other hand are there any upsides in my situation (besides accessing extra I/O) in moving to HDX? Will there be any differences with hardware inserts?

Thanks for the help!
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2019, 01:28 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

The internal mixer is always DSP, so using a native plugin on an aux will cause an added delay compared to your native setup. Even without mixing dsp plugs with native plugs, there is always a switch from dsp to native (when used on an aux, tracks are ok).
IIRC the delay is the length of your hardware buffer (settings).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2019, 04:59 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,809
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

Hi, welcome to the community.

First check your computer has enough power for the HDX cards
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2019, 01:46 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,271
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

HD-X is just horrible to mix on if you want to combine AAX-DSP and AAX-Native plugs. Just my 2p.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2019, 02:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,799
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

Maybe the better question is: What's the upside? If you need more than 64 IO, then you have to weigh things out, but if 64 is enough IO, I'd stick with HDN. My last commercial studio had 48 IO and I never actually used it all up, even tracking 6-7 piece bands
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 08-24-2019 at 08:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2019, 10:49 PM
clonewar clonewar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 5
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Maybe the better question is: What's the upside? If you need more than 64 IO, then you have to weigh things out, but if 64 is enough IO, I'd stick with HDN. My last commercial studio had 48 IO and I never actually used it all up, even tracking 6-7 piece bands
Really the only upside for me right now is access to more than 64 I/O. I have a very smooth running HDN system now, and honestly it's kind of a bummer that I'll have to go to HDX2 to be able to use more I/O, but that's where I'm at. Assessing my I/O usage to stay on HDN is definitely one of the things I'm looking at. (printing hardware inserts, etc)

I could also move to Nuendo for mixing, I already have an RME MADI FX card and could add more MADI I/O, but I prefer mixing in PT and don't want to give up my D-Control.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2019, 02:34 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 717
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
HD-X is just horrible to mix on if you want to combine AAX-DSP and AAX-Native plugs. Just my 2p.
In my experience (On HDX since the last 7 years), HDX is far more better than TDM ever was for mixing DSP and Native plugins. Less voice usage, better stability, etc...

Never had any problem with my HDX rig. Except some minor Pro Tools bugs that are affecting all users...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2019, 05:55 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 953
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

hi,

I mix all day everyday on HDX with both DSP and native plugins and totally love it! I also appreciate the low latency tracking and easy ability to overdub into a fully developed mix.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2019, 09:38 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 860
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
hi,



I mix all day everyday on HDX with both DSP and native plugins and totally love it! I also appreciate the low latency tracking and easy ability to overdub into a fully developed mix.
Agree

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2019, 11:43 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,054
Default Re: Considering going from HDN to HDX - Any downsides?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
hi,

I mix all day everyday on HDX with both DSP and native plugins and totally love it! I also appreciate the low latency tracking and easy ability to overdub into a fully developed mix.
Agree
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Are The Downsides Of Using Third Party Interfaces orbro Pro Tools 9 4 11-08-2010 03:49 PM
downsides to "low latency monitor" mode jacko32 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-16-2003 12:27 AM
Can this be done with success are there any downsides to this functionally STUDIO-DE-ARIEL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-20-2002 10:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com