Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2018, 04:52 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Offline Bouncing Mono/Stereo plug-ins not accurate on following plug-ins

I have wasted quite a bit of time trying to sort out what I believe is a bug.

My Reverb Aux is typically mono and I typically use a mono/stereo Reverb on the Aux. However, sometimes I will throw another reverb option after that plug-in which, of course, requires a stereo version. This allows me to switch between reverbs and choose what I like best. I only keep one insert active at a time.

I noticed... especially the case with H-Reverb and TL Space (the two I tested) that if it is the plug-in after the mono/stereo plugin, when you do a FTRT bounce, these plug-ins (and likely others) do weird things.

For example, in playback, the H-Reverb will sound perfectly balanced. But if you do a FTRT bounce, the reverb will sound shifted off to the left.

With TL Space (NATIVE), when you do the same thing, it will be half the volume after the FTRT bounce then it is in regular playback.

The crazy thing is that if you use either of these plug-ins as the mono/stereo version, they sound find and then seem to bounce accurate for the FTRT bouncing.

Anyone willing to try this and see if they get weird results too?

I'm running in 88.2K 24 bit, Pro Tools 2018.4.0, HDX, Mac 10.12.6.

I'm concerned that this might be an issue with any plug-ins that follow mono/stereo plug-ins when they are bounced FTRT.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio

Last edited by Dizzi45Z; 07-09-2018 at 08:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2018, 05:19 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,703
Default Re: FTRT Bouncing Mono/Stereo plug-ins not accurate

Sorry for my ignorance, but what is an "FTRT bounce"? In any case, you really have answered the issue(in a fashion). It would seem (to me) that it would be better to either start with a stereo AUX track(so reverb plugins can operate in "normal' stereo mode, or make both reverb plugins mono/stereo by making the first one inactive before enabling the second, or better yet, use separate mono AUX tracks so that both reverb plugins can be run correctly, and(more importantly) independent(negating the issue you have)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2018, 08:05 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: FTRT Bouncing Mono/Stereo plug-ins not accurate

Sorry, I assume people know my acronyms FTRT = Faster Than Real Time. I guess I could have said offline bounces to be more clear. (I edited the title of the post now to be more clear)

But you can only make one plug-in mono/stereo on a channel, even if the other plug-ins are inactive.

But regardless, yes, I have found a work around, but if other people are able to replicate it, it should be a bug that is addressed. It probably also means that any time people use a mono/stereo plug-in and then a plug-in after that, it will not render properly on an offline bounce.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2018, 03:10 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 161
Default Re: Offline Bouncing Mono/Stereo plug-ins not accurate on following plug-ins

It's a bad idea to insert a mono to stereo plugin and deactivate it anyway. I'm not even sure which bounce is the bugged one, the offline or the realtime, as I've had multiple similar occasions where the offline bounce was actually the correct one.

In this case I would make 2 separate auxes with reverbs, you can use the same input so you'll only have 1 send, and just mute the reverb (or deactivate the aux) you eventually don't want to use.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference in Bouncing Stereo to Mono and Panning? JLEpperson Pro Tools 10 1 07-10-2012 02:23 PM
A question about mono/stereo plug ins on mono tracks. rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 2 12-24-2011 07:33 PM
Bouncing stereo to mono tracks jwd65 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-07-2006 02:03 PM
Bouncing stereo track to mono C.G. Kelway 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-21-2004 02:16 AM
Bouncing: Stereo vs. Mono & MP3 fun Gremz Tips & Tricks 1 10-25-2000 12:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com