Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-20-2023, 06:24 AM

Default Modern 32 in HDX options?

I’ve been making a living for roughly 20 years using my Mac, an HD(x) system and a 192/96 io setup. I use 24 analog and 8 ADAT inputs. The catch is that I use them simultaneously. I still do band tracking. I could go 16 analog and 16 light pipe if needed. I have all the preamps I need.

My 5,1 has been souped up over the years. But I’d like to move away from it the next year or so. I realize my 192 is long in the tooth. But it still sounds ok. If I need new interfaces, I’m afraid I’m lost.

There’s soooo many ways to do things now. I looked at Carbon, but it doesn’t have enough simultaneous firepower. I guess my setup will still work with a chassis? IF I wanted to get a new interface(s), what are some options you’re using to get there? I might not even need HDX with a new Mac.
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2019. Something
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
I'm either working, sick, or both.
Old 10-20-2023, 07:51 AM

Default Re: Modern 32 in HDX options?

Multiple other folks have been asking similar questions so search should help you.

If you are on HDX the MTRX II or MTRX Studio is a natural go to.

There have been multiple problems/bugs with the Avid HD driver which is disconcerting so I would not just assume things will work without problems.

If you don’t need HDX then the whole world of USB and Thunderbolt interfaces is open to you… including the MTRX Studio and MTRX II with the new Thunderbolt option card. Since that is new you can follow the new user experiences on DUC.