Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-01-2012, 06:53 AM

Default Best upgrade from LE 8.0.5?

Hi there, I run PT LE 8.0.5 on my 15"macbook pro running lion 10.7.3

I am looking to update soon as I see there are a lot more products out there now.

I am seeking advice as to what the best option is? I am a professional musician, but i only use my own personal PT setup for demo recording, not for anything thats going to be released / used, I do that in a 'big boy' studio.

I would like to understand the differences between PT Express, PT 9 MP, PT SE and what I currently have, which is LE 8.0.5

is there any direct benefit to upgrading (apart from getting new hardware... i have the mbox 2 mini and its terrible!)

I really appreciate any advice that may be fired in my direction.
Old 04-01-2012, 07:29 AM

Default Re: Best upgrade from LE 8.0.5?

I would recommend going to PT10. PT9 is an option too, but clip gain, real-time fades and solid performance with Lion are the upsides of 10 that are likely to make it worth it for you.

PT Express is very similar to Native, but you're "locked" to your hardware (like LE).. i.e. you can't disconnect your interface and mix with just an iLok plugged in. I think it also has limited track and busses. MP is for use with M-Audio hardware only, which may be an option but is a bit restricting if you want to change interface further down the track. SE will be a large step backwards for you from LE features-wise, so you probably wouldn't want to consider that.

But obviously it depends on your needs. However because you already have LE, a move to PT 9/10 will be a true "upgrade"... and I'm sure you'll appreciate the difference.