Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2009, 01:28 PM
benjaminflam81 benjaminflam81 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default is a g5 mac 1.8 ghz fast enough for pt

hey guys im not computer savy and wanted to find out is my mac g5 1.8ghz dual ppc fast enough for protools or am i better of building my own pc from scratch or will it do for now ple HELP!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2009, 01:37 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 938
Default Re: is a g5 mac 1.8 ghz fast enough for pt

Of course, it's not the fastest computer out there but it should run PT just fine. I was using a dual 1 ghz for a while and the speed while running PT was no problem but I really noticed a big difference when bouncing files when I jumped up to a MacPro. Also keep in mind, I believe that the PPC will no longer be supported with 10.6.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2009, 05:48 AM
2fly 2fly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 296
Default Re: is a g5 mac 1.8 ghz fast enough for pt

Yep it should do fine. One of my systems is a dual G4 800mhz running 7.4 and it runs fine, a little bit slow at analysing files (compared with faster processors) but not unbearable and gives you time to make a cuppa! It certainly copes with the elastic audio and rtas instruments are useable if you commit to audio and make the original track inactive.
__________________
Alan
http://www.2flystudios.com
G5 2.5ppc, 4gb ram, OSX 10.5.8, PT8.0.1cs4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PT10 User. MBox3, MAudio Fast Track Ultra, MAudio Fast Track 8R? epu Pro Tools 10 3 06-13-2012 03:55 PM
Which HDD should be the fast one? Ford Prefect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-21-2007 03:14 AM
need help FAST SublimeAndy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-02-2005 05:10 PM
Need your help fast! Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-04-2002 12:41 AM
WAY too fast!! scottgreiner Tips & Tricks 6 08-26-2002 05:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com