Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 05-14-2019, 07:31 PM

Default Protools and Mackie DL16s

Hi everyone, good to be here. I am a newbie to this so would appreciate some help. I have gone out and purchased a laptop that has no firewire ports and so is unable to use PT hardware...very clever I know. I also am a working muso that has a PA....and so my research has led me to want to purchase a Mackie DL16s. This will suit my live gigs and is reputed to be able to be used as I/O for Protools via USB. On the surface this sounds great but of course my research hasn't come up with any real proof that anyone is using this or have even tried it. My question is: is anyone here doing it , how's it going? or will it even work? thank you for your time.

rob :)
Old 05-14-2019, 08:43 PM

Default Re: Protools and Mackie DL16s

G’day. Welcome to DUC.

Not sure what you mean by “Pro Tools hardware”, maybe you mean the old 003 or MBox Pro interfaces... Avid has not sold those in years and has exited the consumer interface market with the exception of the Eleven Rack guitar processor.. Pro Tools works with any CoreAudio (Mac) or ASIO (Windows) compatible audio interface. The assumption should be that is there is (there is) an ASIO driver provided by Mackie for this interface it should work.

If there are any known issues you would likely find folks complaining by careful google searches.

FireWire is pretty old technology, something to avoid if starting out new.

If you need a well priced live mixer as well as an interface the Presonus StudioLive is another option to look at. If you want to you can list your needs in more detail and budget and folks here may have suggestions.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-14-2019 at 09:08 PM.