Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2019, 10:01 AM
asgard1019 asgard1019 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 4
Default Dialogue editing workflow

Hello everyone

I got used to use Nuendo to edit dialogue in studio , but at home I use pro tools to make music for fun and do some dialogue..SFX editing to earn some money .
There have few workflow are really annoying me :

1. I have to keep so many audiosuite window opened . It could took a screen .
izotope RX things...different EQ...reverb...reverse...phase tool

2. Any clip with fade curves after audiosuite process . It become a new clip
without fade curves . I need to do all the process I need to before crossfade .

Almost about audiosuite . And I don't know how to faster to finish work .

How you get over these..or what's your workflow for dialogue editing ?

Thanks .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2019, 10:31 AM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Dialogue editing workflow

AudioSuite after crossfades: In PT 10 or later, open up any AudioSuite plugin; near the middle on the 3rd row of pulldown menus is one that, I suspect, says "entire selection." Change that to "clip by clip." The one to the left of that should say "create individual files." The bottom of the plugin screen, to the left of the "Render" button, should now have a number, which is the amount of handle to be processed, and left of that is a button that says "WHOLE FILE." You canchange the default handle length under the processing tab of the preferences.

Another time and hassle saver I use is the clip-based EQ and dynamics. This is in PT 11 (I think, but I went straight from 10 to 12) and later, but only in the HD or Ultimate or whatever they call it version of the software.

sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2019, 03:00 AM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 205
Default Re: Dialogue editing workflow

Clip based eq/dyn came in at 12.6
I know, because my home license ran out at 12.5!
Also to the op instead of audiosuite you can automate plugins, use preview automation to twiddle to find the settings that you like then write to selection for just the clip you've chosen. It's as fast if not faster than audiosuite, reversable or changeable if you need, and you can copy and paste settings to other clips. Also if you highlight multiple clips and write say eq automation to the whole selection it will do it to all clips but preserve crossfades, fade in/out..wchich you can then still change, or if you lengthen a clip the eq remains the same on it rather than audiosuite clips which are fixed at the length you rendered.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2019, 07:27 AM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Dialogue editing workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
Clip based eq/dyn came in at 12.6
I know, because my home license ran out at 12.5!
My bad. Sorry to salt your wound. :/

To be totally honest, I stumbled upon clip based eq/dynamics after I'd had it for an embarrassingly long time. Delicious irony considering how long I've been wanting that feature. (Avid Audio Vision had it in the mid 90s. Yeah, I'm that old.)

sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2019, 09:47 AM
asgard1019 asgard1019 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 4
Default Dialogue editing workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingTor View Post
The bottom of the plugin screen, to the left of the "Render" button, should now have a number, which is the amount of handle to be processed, and left of that is a button that says "WHOLE FILE." You canchange the default handle length under the processing tab of the preferences.
Thank you !! This is really helpful . I can keep fade on the clip .

Are you open a bunch of audiosuite window on a screen ??

Like put edit window...audiosuite..video on 3 different screen ??



Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
Also to the op instead of audiosuite you can automate plugins


I think this may works on EQ or dyn great but Izotope things....

But thanks anyway , you give another way .

And clip based is also a good choice to EQ or filter .





When I'm picking lavalier sound , there are so many track need to solo and listening to it

(not always need to solo, but most of time need to quick to find what I need...) .

I'm using X-OR solo mode , use P and ; to move up or down and keep press shift+s to solo every track . Is this fastest way ?

Last edited by asgard1019; 05-14-2019 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2019, 11:44 AM
KingTor KingTor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Dialogue editing workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by asgard1019 View Post
Thank you !! This is really helpful . I can keep fade on the clip .

Are you open a bunch of audiosuite window on a screen ??

Like put edit window...audiosuite..video on 3 different screen ??
You're welcome. I generally open the AudioSuite plugin I need and close it when I'm done. That means I have to be diligent about saving presets. I also have automated plugins a lot in the past, but now I try to put different settings on different tracks and only automate the matching eq (fabfilter pro q2 is my go-to) on my first pass. I'm also the rerecording mixer I'm editing for, so I have the luxury of defining my own workflow.


sent from a stupid phone using Tapatalk
__________________
Tor Kingdon, Chief Sound Guy
Hear Kitty Studiostwitterfacebook
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heavy Lag after editing Dialogue Spyderrp7 Windows 3 10-25-2018 09:45 AM
Dialogue Editing and Playlists antonis Post - Surround - Video 33 03-02-2014 07:09 PM
Dialogue editing idris Post - Surround - Video 5 09-04-2010 01:14 AM
PT LE for feature dialogue and fx editing ant.s Post - Surround - Video 17 01-22-2005 11:03 AM
Dialogue Editing Dallas Taylor Post - Surround - Video 4 08-02-2004 07:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com