Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2019, 05:54 AM
spinsong spinsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NY.NY
Posts: 101
Default Pro tools 12.5 to 12.7 update

this was posted in a previous thread by someone else. I decided to use my pt 12 perpetual.
I have the 2015 bundle. It expired 3/1/2017
I need to update from 12.5 to 12.7
Thanks
__________________
www.spinsong.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2019, 01:01 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,599
Default Re: Pro tools 12.5 to 12.7 update

If this post isn’t confusing then idk what would be considered confusing
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2019, 03:47 PM
spinsong spinsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NY.NY
Posts: 101
Default Re: Pro tools 12.5 to 12.7 update

There was an older thread posted on this subject. After the 12.7 update, you couldn’t use the 12.5 perpetual license. It was announced after the 12.6 update. If you had an eligible plan after the update, which in my case, expired on 3/1/17, you could have the updated perpetual license compatible with 12.7 put on your account. My software downloads are all 12.7. However, I can’t boot up pro tools due to an older 2015 perpetual license, even though the newer update was applied before 3/1/2017. I need an admin to update my perpetual license, so I can use the product I purchased within the timeframe. Thanks

Last edited by spinsong; 05-08-2019 at 04:06 PM. Reason: Clarification
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2019, 04:37 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,069
Default Re: Pro tools 12.5 to 12.7 update

I'm going to take a stab at "decoding" this. I'm going to assume you have PT HD - now called Ultimate. If so, then to update from 12.5 to 12.6 and above you would need a) an upgrade and support plan that was current - ie not expired and b) a new Digilink license that was part of the upgrade to 12.6 and c) a new iLok license. If you do not have PT HD, then, from 12.6 on you needed the new iLok license only.

If you let your plan expire and you were outside the 30 day grace period, then I don't see anyway you're going to get past 12.5 unless you pay the penalty to get back on plan.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2019, 09:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,601
Default Re: Pro tools 12.5 to 12.7 update

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I'm going to take a stab at "decoding" this. I'm going to assume you have PT HD - now called Ultimate. If so, then to update from 12.5 to 12.6 and above you would need a) an upgrade and support plan that was current - ie not expired and b) a new Digilink license that was part of the upgrade to 12.6 and c) a new iLok license. If you do not have PT HD, then, from 12.6 on you needed the new iLok license only.

If you let your plan expire and you were outside the 30 day grace period, then I don't see anyway you're going to get past 12.5 unless you pay the penalty to get back on plan.
And, maybe tell us why you "need" to update?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2019, 09:17 AM
spinsong spinsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NY.NY
Posts: 101
Default Re: Pro tools 12.5 to 12.7 update

It’s a support ticket issue. It can be addressed by renewing the support plan.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
www.spinsong.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 10 to 11 update.Pro tools crashing AdamArnold macOS 7 06-27-2013 12:17 AM
Pro Tools 6.4 Update, Update ;) TheLP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 45 04-07-2004 11:17 AM
Pro Tools 5.3.1r2 Update for Pro Tools|HD Mac Avid Tips & Tricks 7 07-27-2002 04:58 PM
Pro Tools 5.3.1r2 Update for Pro Tools|HD Mac Avid ICON & C|24 0 07-26-2002 03:14 PM
Pro Tools 5.3.1r2 Update for Pro Tools|HD Mac Avid General Announcements 0 07-26-2002 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com