Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-30-2016, 03:50 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,335
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg View Post
My control's knobs have degenerated to the point of being completely useless. Turning them at any speed except "extremely slow" makes them stutter and even register in the opposite direction. Extremely bad QC decision in sourcing this particular part.

I wish there were a way to replace them.
Hi,

you can replace them (well with the type ones but functioning obviously). My colleague had the same issue. Turn to the right and pan goes left and vice versa. It's usually wear and dirt. He sent the Mix to repair and got all replaced for around 200€.

One of my faders on a Mix recently showed the same effect. Pull fader down. Level in PT goes up. Sent it in for repair. They said it's a common problem after a few years resulting from dust. The faders can not be cleaned so they recommended exchanging all 8 to save cost when the next one is due. It was around 250€ incl. shipping (done at PMS/Germany, the local official AVID repair shop) for all 8 faders (one broken one, 7 exchanged to avoid sudden death of the next one). Not too bad a price for 8 faders. But since only one was broken it felt a bit steep. But they said the others would start acting up at some point too and in the long run it would be cheaper to do all now.

But what the OP writes doesn't sound like a hardware issue. When the diagnosis mode shows correct parameters it can't be the hardware, IMO.

My problems were clearly reflected in the hardware diagnosis mode.

Hope this helps.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.5 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-17-2016, 10:54 PM
Gabaghoul Gabaghoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 7
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

I seemed to have missed this thread and created a new one for the same encoder rotate issue in Logic Pro. Has this been captured as a bug? I am having the issue with the left most encoder as described by the OP. My hardware tested OK.

Is this something being addressed in a new Eucon update? @kyle. Be great to get that fixed. Otherwise the rest of the unit seems to be working nicely.

Thanks
John
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-24-2017, 08:18 PM
TuckerMix TuckerMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: LA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

I'm having the same issue with my Artist Mix encoder 6 and 7 in Cubase 9... the encoder doesn't work for pan (L&R) but DOES work for other functions, WTF!?

The following DOES NOT WORK
- PAN: operation (turning knob left and right).
- PAN: touching pot lightly to reveal param value

The following DOES WORK
- all conceders pass hardware test
- pushing the knob resets pan to center
- when encoders are flipped (operation volume) they WORK FINE

The encoder is clearly communicating to the software and controlling certain params, just not PAN for whatever reason.

Last edited by TuckerMix; 04-25-2017 at 02:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-23-2017, 10:55 AM
Raphie Raphie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NL
Posts: 70
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

I don't know if this ever got solved, but my topknob 1 on each unit is very jittery when turning left or right, the hardware test is fine, it seems like a software problem, as more people clearly have this on encoder 1 and I have it on encoder 1 on both units.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-24-2017, 01:36 AM
Raphie Raphie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NL
Posts: 70
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

even more so, it seems to work less jittery turning it half tempo, it also needs 4 turns to go from 0-128 where knob 2-8 on both units need 2 turns
turning to fast makes the knob jump back in values, again something that knob 2-8 on both units don't do.

To me it feels more like a software resolution / flooding / jitter issue on knob 1 as it is consistent, has always been the same since unboxing and happens on both units. and there are more people calling this knob one issue out.

It would be great if someone at Avid could validate this under Windows 10 x64. It still happens with EUcontrol 3.7 under Cubase 9.0.3
it would be great if this could be fixed in the next update. Never used the top knobs that much, but now diving deeper into the unit it becomes an annoyance.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-24-2017, 09:01 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

FWIW, my old MC MIX is working perfectly.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-24-2017, 09:19 AM
Raphie Raphie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NL
Posts: 70
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Hi Bob, do you have the avid or euphonix version? For me, on both units knob 1 is jittery
Did you try to splash plugin parameters via the insert knob? My units are from 2014.
They might still be within my 3 year warranty, but don’t want to bring them in for a software/firmware issue
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-24-2017, 09:32 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raphie View Post
Hi Bob, do you have the avid or euphonix version?
Euphonix from around the time Avid acquired them.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-24-2017, 09:34 AM
Raphie Raphie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NL
Posts: 70
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Did you try it in Cubase? I don’t have access to protools, might very well be that it works fine there.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-24-2017, 09:36 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

I haven't done MIDI since Studio Vision daze. It put too many of my friends out of work. It works fine in Samplitude.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assignable knob on Artist Transport? asterix2k10 Artist Series 2 02-09-2016 11:43 PM
Feature Request (VOTE!): Linear Knob option for Artist Control jeremiahmoore Artist Series 9 04-21-2015 11:08 AM
Artist Control Monitor/Ctrl Room Volume Knob HowlingWolfStudio Artist Series 1 04-15-2014 11:10 PM
003 Rack+ functional but needs some love The Turnback Buy & Sell 2 08-16-2013 02:52 PM
Turn feature off on Artist Control knob. VSOP Studios Artist Series 17 04-11-2013 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com