Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2008, 02:06 PM
joe.cavers joe.cavers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 106
Default Mac Mini setup anyone?

Hi guys, I did search before posting this....

Is anyone successfully using a Mac Mini with PT LE? My macbook is badly needing replaced, but I don't think I can afford an Imac or Macbook Pro sadly, and I can't bring myself to go back to Windows

I see on Macbuyers Guide they say the Mac Mini is about to be upgraded, so I would buy one then.

I'm using an Mbox 2 and I am not pushing my current system hard, so I do not have any need of high-end power, it's more that I prefer OSX to Windows. The option to use a much larger monitor (as opposed to my laptop screen) is also appealing.

Any input here?

Cheers
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2008, 04:21 PM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: Mac Mini setup anyone?

Mbox2 Mini Support

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2008, 01:40 AM
joe.cavers joe.cavers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 106
Default Re: Mac Mini setup anyone?

I did see that, but that's only for 7.3 and not the latest Mac Mini's, I wondered if anyone was actually using a setup. Given that response though, I'll assume it works?

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2008, 08:37 AM
drumstik drumstik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Mac Mini setup anyone?

I have a on loacation rig that runs on a mac mini. It has worked like a charm and I have yet to have a major issue with it. I have had it up and running since October 2006. I am thinking about upgrading to Leopard and 7.4.2 but my system is so stable and reliable I don't know that I need/want to.

I have used it for all kinds of professional audio work. From live 2 track recording to studio recording/mixing using high track and plugin counts and even a live multitrack recording/dvd shoot. For that one I was recording 18 tracks for 3+ hours and didn't have a single hiccup.

http://www.soundmotionrecording.com
http://www.myspace.com/soundmotionrecording
__________________
Mobile Rig - Mac Mini 1.83 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo. 2 Gig RAM. Digi 002 Rack. PT 7.4.2
Home Base - Mac Mini 1.83 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo. 2 Gig RAM. Mbox 2. PT 7.4.2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2008, 02:43 AM
joe.cavers joe.cavers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 106
Default Re: Mac Mini setup anyone?

Thank you, that's just what I wanted to know. I think that makes up my mind for me. This way I can have OSX, a giant screen and still not have to take out a mortgage to afford it all

It's definitely nice to know you can do 18+ tracks of multitrack recording! I don't even think my current setup could cope with that.

Cheers

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2008, 07:43 AM
dougied dougied is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Omahaha, Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 609
Default Re: Mac Mini setup anyone?

I have the very first Intel Mac Mini with OSX Tiger 10.4.9 and ProTools 7.1.1 with the Music Production Toolkit installed. It runs like a champ!! I can record full-on bands and do post production with ease. I did put the max amount of memory into it 2GB and it's quicker than snot.

But yeah dude, the Mini's Rock!! if you want to hear my very first recording of a rock band with my Mini Rig, check out this song on my http://www.myspace.com/anytimestudios1 page and listen to the song called 'The Pulse' by the band 'AuraSing'. It was my first true multi-track demo I did for them, and now I have my Mac Pro we're onto a much larger project.

But the Intel Mini can kick ass and take names!!

I have not yet upgraded to Leopard or 7.4 on my Mini but I do have it on my Mac Pro.

Hope this helps!!
__________________
Mac Pro Dual Quad 2.8Ghz 2008
MacBook Pro i7 2012
OSX 10.8.5 - OSX 10.7.5
Pro Tools 10.3.7 - 11.1.2
6GB RAM
Universal Audio Apollo Quad!!!
Eleven Rack
Focusrite Octopre MKII
Yamaha HS80s
Rockit RP5 Monitors w/ RP10 sub
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Mini not in my Hardware Setup in 10. bespokennyc macOS 1 04-22-2012 04:19 PM
Setup for PT LE Mbox2 Mini Win XP system karkkola 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-13-2010 11:49 AM
Need help with Mbox2 Mini setup. playgirist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 08:58 AM
Should be simple right? digi002 to Mini-Me setup mushmouth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-17-2008 09:00 PM
new mac mini setup Gwyn ap Harri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 03-08-2005 10:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com