Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2008, 07:45 PM
Andrew814 Andrew814 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 87
Default 1 long session or several short?

For as long as I can remember, when I record in protools, I open up a new session for every song. This gets annoying and time consuming when I record more than one song from the same band, because then I have to write down the levels and copy them to the other sessions. If I just did one long session with all of the songs on it, would that run more cpu power, enough to prompt the ever so annoying "You are running out of CPU power" message? Thanks
__________________
Work: Mac Pro 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, OSX 10.6.8, 8 GB RAM, Digi 003, PT 10.3.9 +CPTK

Home:2013 nMac Pro 3.5 GHz 6 Core Xeon E5, OSX 10.10, 16 GB RAM, UA Apollo Quad Thunderbolt, PT 11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:36 PM
Paul Cavins Paul Cavins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 328
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

Others who are more knowledgable might have better ideas, but I'll offer a couple.

Look into "import session data", or something like that. That is a way to import the mixer behavior of one session into the other. Look it up in the manual for a real explanation.

Another idea would be to use playlists. The playlist concept is the greatest thing ever. Make a track for each thing recorded (kick, snare, oh, bass di, amp guitar, etc. Then use a new playlist for each new song, the mixer set up could stay the same.

Using playlists TOTALLY RULES!! If you don't know how to use them, learn. You will be glad you did.

Hope this helps-

PC
__________________
I don't know karate but I know KA-RAZY!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2008, 09:24 PM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

My usual workflow is I use one long session for tracking. I use markers to identify songs and takes. I feel it allows the band to be more spontaneous, and it is more consistent for the headphone mixes. Session length AFAIK has no bearing on CPU usage.

After tracking I do a "Session Save As" for each song and strip out the unwanted regions. I use these sessions for overdubs.

When overdubs and vocals are complete I consolidate regions, remove (not delete) unused regions from the sessions and do a "Save Session Copy", copying all relevant audio files to the new session. When I'm satisfied that the new copied sessions are self-contained and complete I delete the original tracking sessions folder.
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2008, 02:55 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

So I take you aren't working to a click? Or are you setting up new tempos and time signatures throughout your one long session?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2008, 04:47 AM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

I try to avoid using a click track when I have the band playing together. I get a better result if I let them find their own tempo.

If necessary I can generate bar/beat markers from the drummers performance but I rarely need to.
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2008, 06:35 AM
Andrew814 Andrew814 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 87
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

Thanks for your input guys, it'll save a lot of time doing the one long session, and I will try and figure out how to use playlist.
__________________
Work: Mac Pro 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, OSX 10.6.8, 8 GB RAM, Digi 003, PT 10.3.9 +CPTK

Home:2013 nMac Pro 3.5 GHz 6 Core Xeon E5, OSX 10.10, 16 GB RAM, UA Apollo Quad Thunderbolt, PT 11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2008, 02:51 PM
Paul Cavins Paul Cavins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 328
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

PLAYLIST PLAYLIST PLAYLIST PLAYLIST!!!!!! X 1,000,000!!!

Whatever anyone is doing as they read this, if they have not yet learned about and mastered the playlist concept in PT, DO IT NOW. You will be a happy recordist. If you are cooking dinner, turn the stove off. TiVo your TV show. Tell your date to go home. Don't pet that dog!!!

Don't want to overstate it, though......


PC
__________________
I don't know karate but I know KA-RAZY!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-18-2008, 03:02 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

Quote:
I try to avoid using a click track when I have the band playing together. I get a better result if I let them find their own tempo.
Ouch. That just sounds painful.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-18-2008, 04:55 PM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

Quote:
Quote:
I try to avoid using a click track when I have the band playing together. I get a better result if I let them find their own tempo.
Ouch. That just sounds painful.
I hear you



If the band can't nail the song on their own then trying to chase a click is not going to help them.
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-2008, 05:05 PM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: 1 long session or several short?

Quote:
PLAYLIST PLAYLIST PLAYLIST PLAYLIST!!!!!! X 1,000,000!!!
I sometimes use playlists but only for overdubs. I don't use them for tracking, I like to see all the takes on screen. It's just the way my mind works.

I definitely won't use them if I have more than one song in a session.
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac keyboards: the short (Blutooth) vs long (wired)? lanstrad macOS 9 09-17-2013 05:04 AM
Where Did Extra Long and Short Delay II Go? Trailerman Pro Tools 10 6 01-18-2012 01:57 AM
One long beep two short with Digi 001 pci card. craiz730 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-24-2010 12:27 PM
short vs long delay compensation sonic koka Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-08-2009 06:32 PM
ADC, Short delay or Long dalay?? bobo mark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-24-2006 06:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com