Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2019, 10:43 AM
nedd nedd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Europe-NL
Posts: 161
Default HDX cards in Netstor NA211A-G3 expansion box?

I was wondering if there some folks here that are using Netstor NA211A-G3 PCIe expansion box with HDX cards inside? I was looking into putting HDX2 inside.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2019, 10:48 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 508
Default Re: HDX cards in Netstor NA211A-G3 expansion box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nedd View Post
I was wondering if there some folks here that are using Netstor NA211A-G3 PCIe expansion box with HDX cards inside? I was looking into putting HDX2 inside.


I’m using the previous generation NA211A with PCIe 2.0 slots and HDX3. Works great.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:21 AM
nedd nedd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Europe-NL
Posts: 161
Default Re: HDX cards in Netstor NA211A-G3 expansion box?

That is good news, all tree cards in de box? And you could also convert this box to thunderbolt, in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:32 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 508
Default Re: HDX cards in Netstor NA211A-G3 expansion box?

Yes, when I bought it, they said the PCIe connection card could be swapped out for TB some day.

All three HDX cards are in that one box. Actually, I’m using a totally of two Netstor PCIe expansions on the same system. The second one houses a usb 3 card, PCIe SSD for the system drive, and a SAS Raif card the runs separate SSD raids for project files and video playback.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:43 AM
nedd nedd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Europe-NL
Posts: 161
Default Re: HDX cards in Netstor NA211A-G3 expansion box?

And everything works as expected, no troubles so far?

I am looking into buying the G3 version and KIT as well to turn this one if necessary onto TB3!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2019, 12:15 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 508
Default Re: HDX cards in Netstor NA211A-G3 expansion box?

No problems at all. I’m using them with a 2012 MacPro tower. 10.12.6. And always the latest PT version. Everything is rock solid.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2019, 12:18 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 508
Default Re: HDX cards in Netstor NA211A-G3 expansion box?

By the way, I did get the ‘GPU’ version with bigger power supplyTo make sure all three HD X cards had enough power. But it looks like the PCI version 3 that you want to buy already has the bigger power supply. So this is more just a warning for anyone reading this who buys the older PCI version to like mine, you should get that larger power supply in the GPU version.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expansion Cards on I/O jre3132 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-25-2016 08:17 AM
HD i/o AD and DA expansion cards gsharp Buy & Sell 0 12-29-2013 11:24 AM
192 I/O Expansion Cards egghead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-11-2011 12:21 PM
192 Expansion Cards Martin Adriaanse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-07-2005 03:56 PM
192 Stock I/O cards used as expansion cards? barthalamu Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-03-2004 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com