Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2019, 12:52 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,977
Default Meters

When doing mixes, I am curious to know what meters you prefer to use. Do you rely at all on the PT meters? Which of the PT meter options do you prefer? What meter plugins? Up til now I've relied mostly on the Waves meter plugin and one from IK Multi-media T-Racks. I've also looked at the Melda Loudness Analyzer. I'm just wondering what meters you all might prefer on the master bus?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2019, 01:56 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,163
Default Re: Meters

I used to religiously use Waves Dorrough on the master, but now I just set it up to K14 and be done with it. Regular tracks are Venue Peak
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2019, 08:13 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 740
Default Re: Meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I used to religiously use Waves Dorrough on the master, but now I just set it up to K14 and be done with it. Regular tracks are Venue Peak
I use a TC Clarity M. It's kind of nice to have something that's always there. Mostly I use it as via a plugin but I also have it fed by AES pre-fader from my monitor controller (MTRX).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2019, 10:07 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 188
Default Re: Meters

I ALWAYS mix to analog (or virtual analog) VU type meters set to my desired reference level.

I've used the PSP TripleMeter in the past but the Waves VU is currently my favorite.

I also use the Waves Level Meter Plus for hitting exact LKFS delivery specs but the VU is still my main point of reference.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.5.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2019, 10:47 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,129
Default Re: Meters

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
now I just set it up to K14 and be done with it.
Same here. I also use Waves WLM plus as the last insert of the master especially for the true peak limiter. Regular tracks are default
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2019, 02:12 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,977
Default Re: Meters

Metering in Pro Tools still seems a bit of mystery to me. I personally like to use the Waves VU meter. It defaults to -18dbfs, so a -18db reference tone in PT will default to 0 db on VU meter. Of course it can be adjusted.



In this tutorial from Kenny Gioia, he shows how we can adjust the Pro Tool reference level to gain more headroom. Of course, you'd have to adjust the VU meter accordingly. But he seems to be speaking about levels coming in to PT from outboard analog gear. He doesn't discuss anything related to VI's, for example.



So, I'm wondering a couple things: 1) do any of you set a different reference level for PT other than the default (which is, I believe -18)? 2)Do you adjust the meter color ranges like Kenny shows in the video? 3) Is there an "ideal" reference level?



I have to agree with Kenny that it often feels to me that even with VI's, it feels that everything is running a bit too hot, but before I change anything, I'd like to hear from some of you guys out there on this.



Also, which of the now MANY PT meter options do you prefer to use. In the video, Kenny is using the PT Classic meter. I have normally used the PT RMS setting, but I'm not sure that's the best option either.



Thoughts?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 8 Meters jpbears1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 01-04-2009 04:49 PM
Track Meters Vs. Master Meters? antiphase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-04-2004 09:33 AM
No Meters when BTD in OSX kite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-26-2004 01:53 PM
which Meters Greene Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-17-2003 10:58 AM
Aux input meters vs Track meters Traveler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 12-04-2001 09:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com