Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2003, 06:46 PM
Emerson Scott Emerson Scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 35
Default Selling your 001?

Hey Everyone, i was just wondering how many of you will be selling your 001 on ebay, now that there is a Rack 002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2003, 08:09 PM
King Kong King Kong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 207
Default Re: Selling your 001?

Me! with full packing!
__________________
King Kong
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2003, 08:31 PM
Alex T. Alex T. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 216
Default Re: Selling your 001?

I am selling my 2 year old 001 right away!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2003, 09:37 PM
Drew Tedesco Drew Tedesco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default Re: Selling your 001?

Everyone....Don't forget that you get better througput with the Digi 001 than either 002s, because the firewire slows down the transfer rate of information. I'm keeping my 001 and just adding a Focusrite Octopre to keep everything that's cool about the 001 and add better mic pres.
__________________
Digi 002r
Athlon XP 2100+
ASUS A7V333-X
1x512MB 2700 DDR RAM
40GB 7200rpm system drive
60GB w/8MB buffer 7200rpm
ATI Radeon VE 32MB dual display
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:47 PM
dwdrummer dwdrummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Modesto , CA
Posts: 439
Default Re: Selling your 001?

Why update?

its a 002 without the controll surface and there is NO new features!

I would have upgraded if there was 96K Lightpipe and a worldclock in and out but......
__________________
davec: 32 + 34 @ 128 !!!! @ 2700mhz AMD!

www.Chrisclouse.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:19 AM
gerax gerax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Modena, Italy
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: Selling your 001?

Mmmmhh....

I don't think I'll upgrade right away; in the end there's only 96KHz support added, and to me it's not what rocks my world; I think I'll invest in a set of better converters and keep the 001 for a while; all of the features that would've made a new version really professional while still keeping it in the project studio domain (Word Clock, sync options) are left out, and those would've made me upgrade, but...

I'll let a few montys pass to see how it's working then I'll decide, but to me it's not a worthwile upgrade.

L.G.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2003, 01:36 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Selling your 001?

drew - I'm curious about your statement:

"Don't forget that you get better througput with the Digi 001 than either 002s, because the firewire slows down the transfer rate of information."

It seems to me that Firewire's nominal rate of 480Mb/s far exceeds the bandwidth needed to transfer even the rare case of 18 streams at 24/96 (about 40Mbits/sec), so don't see any downside from a speed standpoint.

I see the 002 Rack as providing more and better preamps, 96khz sampling, and much simpler interfacing with the growing number of 1394-equipped computers, all at a reasonable price increase over the 001.

Just my $.02...
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2003, 04:04 AM
Joz Joz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: Selling your 001?

Ok, since I use the rosetta and a 1272 pre, the only reason I'd be upgrading for is the 96k option... But you cant seem to use 32 tracks at 96k with a comp that maxes-out with 32 tracks at 44.1k.(I need atleast 28 tracks)... plus there is evidence that the rosetta at 44.1k sounds better than Digis converters at 96k. And I'm ralking about HD converters.

So I don't know, my 001 setup seems already better.

Joz
__________________
"I never hit a women with her clothes on!"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2003, 04:17 AM
vonbleak101 vonbleak101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Selling your 001?

Well, thats a silly comment.

"since I use the rosetta and a 1272 pre"

Of course if you are using an outboard/better converters and better mic pres you dont need to upgrade.

But for people you are just running a 001 on its own the 002 rack offer 4 good pres, insted of 2 average ones, and better converters let alone the fact that if you wanted to you could use it with a laptop, and there are plenty of reasons to upgrade. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Audio Engineer/Musician/Producer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2003, 06:12 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Selling your 001?

Quote:
Originally posted by Joz:
Ok, since I use the rosetta and a 1272 pre, the only reason I'd be upgrading for is the 96k option... But you cant seem to use 32 tracks at 96k with a comp that maxes-out with 32 tracks at 44.1k.(I need atleast 28 tracks)... plus there is evidence that the rosetta at 44.1k sounds better than Digis converters at 96k. And I'm ralking about HD converters.

So I don't know, my 001 setup seems already better.

Joz
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">My 96's sound incredible when synced up with an external clock (one of my own making actually!). As for computers that can handle 96....soon, very soon. Intel's new 800 fsb and AMD inevitable competitiveness are really shoving the computers forward right now. I think we'll be maxing out at 96 in less than a year. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling my PT rig. . . jkess macOS 2 09-10-2013 01:41 PM
Selling PT djstyleee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-25-2010 06:31 PM
Selling my PC DAW s0nguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 08-17-2006 03:08 PM
selling one 888/24 Soundtracks Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-23-2002 07:44 PM
How well is PT-NT selling? noisefloor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 06-17-1999 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com