Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:27 PM
jfplumb jfplumb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default PT11 - UAD2 problems

After updating to PT11, I am having serious CPU issues when using most of the UAD2 omni suite. CPU overload doesn't seem to make sense considering all the DSP is on my two UAD2 quad Satellites??? Has anyone else had these issues with PT11 and UAD2 Plugs? I have seen the AVID set up guidelines and have my machine configured as required.

Any help would be much appreciated. My workflow is being seriously compromised.
If this is the wrong forum, I apologize. I don't post very often but am at a total loss.

MAC OS 10.8.5
Pro Tools 11.1.2
Harware is NATIVE HD Card, HD MADI > SSL MADI AX.
Other specs below:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number of Processors: 2
Total Number of Cores: 8
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache (per Processor): 8 MB
Memory: 32 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 6.4 GT/s
Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07
SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5

UAD Software

UAD Software Release Version: 7.4.1
UAD GUI Library Version: 7.4.1 12-05-2013 11:59
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
UAD-2 Engine Version: 7.04.666
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
UAD Hardware

Number of Devices: 2
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Device # : 1
Device Type: UAD-2 Satellite Quad
Hardware ID: 838af-30c9f-bb013-d168e
Serial number:
UAD-2 driver version: 7.04.666
DSP Bootloader version: 3.04.005
DSP Framework version: 3.06.41448
FPGA version: 0.13.44053
Microprocessor version: 0.18.004 AT
Authorization date code: 10-17-2012
Authorization supports up to version: 0.0

Device # : 2
Device Type: UAD-2 Satellite Quad
Hardware ID: 358aa-20404-338d7-d683e
Serial number:
UAD-2 driver version: 7.04.666
DSP Bootloader version: 3.04.005
DSP Framework version: 3.06.41448
FPGA version: 0.13.44053
Microprocessor version: 0.18.004 AT
Authorization date code: 10-17-2012
Authorization supports up to version: 0.0

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Host System Info

OS Version: Mac OS X
CPU: 2659 MHz (x16)
RAM: 2047 MB
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:31 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

Keep in mind the UA release is a beta and has many bugs.

I use PCI cards and don't have the issue you mention.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2014, 09:28 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

My Satellite's are useless in PT HD 11 only my Octo card works - it could be a combination of the 2 together but yes beta has issues
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2014, 08:04 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,687
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

Make sure to let Universal Audio know about this!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2014, 06:26 AM
WinTaper WinTaper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 130
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

I have a UAD2 Quad. So far no major problems with PT11 - other than the latency of UAD plugins using AAX/PT11 is about 5 times the latency of the same session opened in PT10/RTAS (at the same playback buffer). Not a problem for me since I never track with UAD plugs...
-dan
__________________
Pro Tools 11.1.2 | Mac OSX 10.9.2
RME Ray-DAT | SSL Alpha-Link AX
Intel Core i7 990X @ 3.60GHz
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 rev 1.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2014, 06:41 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinTaper View Post
I have a UAD2 Quad. So far no major problems with PT11 - other than the latency of UAD plugins using AAX/PT11 is about 5 times the latency of the same session opened in PT10/RTAS (at the same playback buffer). Not a problem for me since I never track with UAD plugs...
-dan
If UA could code their plugs to switch buffers, that would be amazing!! Lots of work though that I doubt they'll do.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2014, 08:55 PM
mrtomcat mrtomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 233
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

UAD 7.50 was released today. No more AAX Beta and the performance has dramatically gotten better.

Try that out
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2014, 09:13 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,166
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtomcat View Post
UAD 7.50 was released today. No more AAX Beta and the performance has dramatically gotten better.

Try that out
Agree 10000000% with this statement

Wayyyy better performance and the plugins just feel stable and solid so Good Job UAudio

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-21-2014, 10:50 AM
jfplumb jfplumb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

Thanks gang
Did a clean Mavericks install yesterday. New Solid state drive...Luck would have UAD2 v7.5 release on the same day. As soon as this game is over and I get into studio I will update and we will see. I feel lucky.
Go Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-22-2014, 09:21 AM
WinTaper WinTaper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 130
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

UAD 7.5 AAX might be working better - but still adding 1024 samples of latency vs the exact same plugins running under RTAS/PT10.

Using a playback buffer of 128 samples in a session with a single track with a single UAD plugin (Neve-1073 / UAD2 Quad PCIE), PT10 reports 159 samples compensation, PT11 reports 1055 samples.

Clicking the UAD "Live" button (which actually runs the plugin natively, not on the UAD card) produces a latency of 31 samples on both PT11 and PT10. We can assume that the 31 samples is the latency of the plugin code itself, which is perfectly reasonable.

And the math adds up... Subtracting the plugin latency from the reported compensation in PT10 yields 159-31=128 samples (which matches the playback buffer) and 1055-31=1024 samples for PT11 (which does not match the buffer - but equals a very buffer-like looking value).

So it looks like UAD are doing extra buffering in their AAX-64 plugins ahen not running in "live" mode.

One other point of interest. In PT10 the delay comp changes to match the playback buffer, so for the above example if I change the playback buffer to 256, PT10 will report 287 samples of deplay comp - which when we subtract the plugin code, again matches the playback buffer (287-31=256). In PT11 changing the playback buffer has no effect on the reported compensation for UAD2 plugins (because its already maxed at 1024?)

I only use UAD plugs for mixing, so its not a big issue for me - but I was surprised at the large discrepancy between AAX and RTAS implementations.

-dan
__________________
Pro Tools 11.1.2 | Mac OSX 10.9.2
RME Ray-DAT | SSL Alpha-Link AX
Intel Core i7 990X @ 3.60GHz
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 rev 1.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bunch of Problems with new PT11 install lightningad1 Pro Tools 11 3 07-10-2015 09:23 AM
Why is there so many problems with PT11 chaudes Pro Tools 11 23 01-19-2014 06:19 PM
PT11.1 /UAD2 Satellite & Digi002Rack greenetunes Pro Tools 11 6 01-01-2014 08:31 PM
Problems with pt11 and plugins aax vinagrepuro Pro Tools 11 6 09-24-2013 01:21 AM
Problems with PT11 (and 10) and 003+ kfisher Pro Tools 11 0 06-23-2013 12:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com