Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2013, 07:07 PM
juicytunes juicytunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default In time, internet recording

Hi all,

What gear does one need to do live, in-time recording over the internet?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2013, 11:00 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,740
Default Re: In time, internet recording

Are you talking about recording direct to a "hard drive" in the cloud, or do you mean being able to record in one place while the performer is in another city/state/country and you both hear everything in sync?

If the latter is what you mean, you can check out http://source-elements.com/ for a program/plugin called Source Connect, its even available as AAX.

I'm not sure what hardware you need exactly, but they will know.

You can also buy the Alan Parsons Art And Science of Sound tutorial, or just buy the segments you want, like the Internet Recording segment, its like 5 bucks to download 2 bucks to stream.

http://www.artandscienceofsound.com/
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2020
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2013, 01:18 AM
juicytunes juicytunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default Re: In time, internet recording

The latter. I'd like to record my guitar tracks at home, while the rest of the band is at another studio, and have everything synched.

thanks for your reply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2013, 06:18 PM
juicytunes juicytunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default Re: In time, internet recording

So, I gather each party has to have source-connect?

Anyone here have experience with this?
I see the pro version is quite a bit more money. Is it necessary for it to work without a hitch?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2013, 10:19 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,024
Default Re: In time, internet recording

The latency induced will make this a royal PITA. If you are playing along with the rest of the guys, by the time the sound is encoded and sent their way, its probably going to take a minimum of 200ms. So the rest of the band would have to mute you during the record and then re sync after the take.
__________________
HP Z2 Xeon 6 Core, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D Win10, PT 2020.......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2013, 09:00 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,921
Default Re: In time, internet recording

I would create a session at both locations(same sample rate, bit depth and tempo) and email mp3 files back and forth. Once you have your finals, upload the waves files with DropBox or yousendit. As long as the files you trade all start at 00:00:000, they should all line up fine
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2013, 02:51 PM
juicytunes juicytunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default Re: In time, internet recording

HI guys, thanks for the replies.

Albee, I do what you're talking about frequently.

What I"m looking into, is being able to play a session all at once, with everybody, from two different locations. I've looked at the source-connect page, and it looks interesting, and seems like it would work. I just haven't run into many people who have actually done it.
It's kind of pricey, so I don't really want to buy it, and have it be a royal pain, or always dealing with kinks.

I've also talked with someone who did their session while connected to skype.
Cone computer with skype, the other with PT, and connect them, but, I think that would really only work with an overdub session, for communicating and hearing the new track in real time, and then sending it afterward vie yousendit or the like.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-27-2013, 07:01 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,453
Default Re: In time, internet recording

How about Digital Musician?

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-27-2013, 07:24 PM
juicytunes juicytunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default Re: In time, internet recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
How about Digital Musician?

Cheers,
Interesting. Never heard of it. So, it wouldn't work with Pro Tools though, right?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:00 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,453
Default Re: In time, internet recording

They did have an RTAS plug-in at one time, not sure if they still do. You could use Reaper to collaborate and then dump the tracks into Pro Tools for mixing.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Time Connecting PC to Internet BPlayer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-12-2007 10:14 PM
distance recording over the internet greglawrence Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-05-2007 04:20 PM
Wanna upgrade to Q-Time PRO, but system is not connected to the internet... Avid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-22-2003 03:34 AM
recording live from the internet strangelittleman General Discussion 0 04-02-2003 05:06 PM
How do you do to comunicate through internet in real time PabloG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-11-2001 05:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com