Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2012, 10:09 PM
meech meech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 290
Default Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

I was thinking about these 909x errors we've all been experiencing and how they don't occur when Pro Tools HD isn't going through the Native card. I already am using the Apogee Symphony I/O as my interface ... does anybody know if the Symphony 64 card could work well with Pro Tools? If it had the same low latency, I/O counts (actually I never use more than 8 in and out simultaneously), etc ... maybe it could be a solution to the 909x errors while also being considerably cheaper. Has anyone tried this? Do they perform well with Pro Tools? Thanks for the help!
__________________
HD Native - Apogee Symphony I/O
Mac Pro 6 core 3.33 Westmere 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 10.2
OSX 10.7.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2012, 08:23 AM
SR1200 SR1200 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Westbury, NY
Posts: 10
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

Let me know how this works, I'm going to have to dump my HDN card if this isn't fixed by the end of the month. I would like to know if you can use the PT i/o hardware with the symphony 64 card (kinda opposite of what you're doing now)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2012, 08:51 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,798
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

You won't be able to use the Avid HD hardware into the Symphony card.

He is talking about using the Apogee Symphony IO into the Apogee Symphony card as his interface for Protools, instead of the HD Native card.

This should work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2012, 11:26 PM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

Will only be able to you it as core audio
You will be far from having a functioning HD Native system using the apogee
You will be limited by the core audio specs and guidelines
You will loose the ability to use a sync IO,video reference, and all it's functions etc...
Also its limited to 8 IN & OUT from what i recall and a plethora of other limitations

That's the catch with using non avid products with avid software
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2012, 02:25 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

BTW- not "all of us" are getting 909x errors.
I've never gotten one with my current rig.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2012, 03:19 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,013
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejwells View Post
BTW- not "all of us" are getting 909x errors.
I've never gotten one with my current rig.

Yep... nothing here either.
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2012, 03:57 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

The Symphony64 card with a Symphony I/O and Pro Tools 10 is an amazing solution that works great----however it's not exactly the same as an HD Native with the Symphony I/O. If you were to replace the HD Native card with the Apogee, you would essentially have a true native system (with the DSP of the Apogee card) in terms of Pro Tools. IMHO since you already have the HD NATIVE, there's no reason to switch. As to the errors, it's got to be something centralized on your machine.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2012, 12:04 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 656
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

Just thought I would throw out there that running PT natively (on core audio) DOES support more than 8x8. I had aggregate audio working at 34x18 so I'm guessing the limit from avid is 64x64.

I'm testing it and it didn't do so well, but from what I'm reading maybe I had some plugin issues...then again I could run those same plugs @ low rtas latency on HD-TDM.

Also meech, as a place to kinda get a feel for it, try running the symphony I/O from the USB. It's a free way to at least check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2012, 01:44 PM
meech meech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 290
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
Also meech, as a place to kinda get a feel for it, try running the symphony I/O from the USB. It's a free way to at least check it out.
That's a good idea, I'll check it out and see how it performs.
__________________
HD Native - Apogee Symphony I/O
Mac Pro 6 core 3.33 Westmere 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 10.2
OSX 10.7.5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-18-2012, 10:16 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 656
Default Re: Is the Apogee Symphony 64 PCIe Card a possible alternative?

How did you fare? I'm trying to get a handle on performance of HD|N vs HD vs Core Audio.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Rosetta 800 x 2 Symphony card dtess Buy & Sell 3 06-21-2015 03:19 PM
Apogee Symphony 64 Pcie and PT10 jac740 Third Party Interfaces 1 11-30-2013 10:58 AM
Apogee Symphony, symphony 64, motu 128, 3u rack case chrisgil Buy & Sell 1 02-18-2013 11:48 AM
Apogee Symphony For Sale, with 64 card and extras chrisgil Pro Tools 10 3 12-16-2012 11:52 AM
Apogee Symphony vs HD PCIe Accel cards DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 10-13-2010 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com