Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:36 AM
DRD32 DRD32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Default DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HELP

HELLO FOLKS,

First off, I do enjoy what Pro tools has to offer but as of late, I want to throw my DIGI 002R right out the window!


PROBLEM #1,
We have had our DIGI 002R for less than a year, and the power harness goes out for no reason.
If your mute light stays on with no other yellow lights, that means your harness went out.
From my research it is a very common problem, yet Digi to my knowledge hasn't recalled the product or announced the issue to the public. However, they do resolve the problem and overnight mail you the piece.


PROBLEM #2,
I am recieving the following problem:
"DAE, cant get audio from the disk fast enough. your disk may be too slow or too fragmented. a firewire disk may be having trouble due to the extra firewire bandwidth or cpu load."

IF ANYONE CAN HELP with #2, please post, we really need our studio up and running asap....


Obviously I am a tadbit disgruntled, more frustrated than anything, $1,500 didn't even last half a year with no problems..hahahah wow,

signed,
please help


THANK YOU ALL.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:50 AM
networker networker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: LA
Posts: 125
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HELP

Hopefully you are not putting sessions on your system drive, or you have tried a different firewire drive?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:51 AM
DRD32 DRD32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HE

UH O, why do u say that...lol

they are all on my hard drive
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2005, 09:27 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,766
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HE

What is the error number in the message?

Also, please provide a complete system profile - computer model, OS version, PT version, attached peripherals and any other pertinent info.

It is strongly recommended that you not use your system drive for recording and playing back Pro Tools sessions.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2005, 09:31 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,820
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HELP

Quote:
PROBLEM #2,
I am recieving the following problem:
"DAE, cant get audio from the disk fast enough. your disk may be too slow or too fragmented. a firewire disk may be having trouble due to the extra firewire bandwidth or cpu load."
i spent more than you did and i occasionally get these problems. but you can remedy it. maybe if you gave more information, people could help you better. how big are your sessions??? does it happen with all sessions? what OS and PT versions are you running? what kind of FW drive is it? is it full? do you have disk warrior? have you tried all the maintenance things in the DIGI trouble shooting? repaired disk permissions? cleared everything off the drive and re-formatted according to DIG specs.

before you defenestrate your audio interface, you may want to do a bit more with your system to make sure it is running smoothly.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2005, 11:38 AM
DRD32 DRD32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HE

Thanks for responding,
here is all the info that I came up with
. error # is (-9073)
. HP pavillion
. version 5.12600
. build 2600
. windows xp
. pentium 4
. 2.8 GHZ
. 512 MB physical memory'
. system model # DQ099A-ABA-A340N
. Standard internal firewire drive ( we do not know the brandname)

If you got any pointers, please respond.

Should we be saving our pro tools sessions to a portable hard drive?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2005, 11:46 AM
Eric L Eric L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 582
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HELP

[QUOTE]
Quote:
PROBLEM #2,
before you defenestrate your audio interface, you may want to do a bit more with your system to make sure it is running smoothly.
Cool word!
de·fen·es·trate P Pronunciation Key (de-fen-i-strat)
tr.v. de·fen·es·trat·ed, de·fen·es·trat·ing, de·fen·es·trates
To throw out of a window.

I missed that one on the SAT verbal section. I learned something new today. I love this forum.
__________________
Eric Lalicata C.A.S.
Supervising Sound Editor
Re-Recording Mixer
Anarchy Post
1811 Victory Blvd
Glendale, CA 91201
818-334-3300
www.anarchypost.net
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:43 PM
Stu Venable Stu Venable is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HE

Usually, *internal* hard drives are IDE, EIDE, SCSI, etc. -- but not Firewire.

Protools (as well as most other recording software I've used) works better and faster if you have a dedicated drive for audio files. Especially with a big session.

Stu
__________________
Stu Venable
www.angryfolk.com
Digi002R
ProTools LE 6.9
Athlon64 3400
768 mb
2 7200rpm 80gb Drives
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2005, 12:39 AM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HE

DRD32,

I was recently having this same problem (same error message and error code). My hard drive was going bad. It hadn't completely failed yet, but was on it's way out. I replaced the drive and the errors stopped.

Hope this helps,

Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate (Native)2019.10, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2005, 02:17 AM
DRD32 DRD32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: DAE /PLAYBACK ISSUE -unsatisfied customer! HE

thank you all for your help...


i have since attached a external HD and moved sessions over to it...However, we have two big sessions on our computers HD and they still can't be opened...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 Playback Issue jackmackdaddy macOS 6 08-06-2012 06:26 PM
Playback issue sstrazis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-31-2010 11:56 PM
playback issue beatbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-12-2009 05:49 PM
Playback issue Andmoore1230 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-29-2008 04:16 PM
PTLE 7... another unsatisfied customer! brinaddison 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 89 10-13-2005 05:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com