Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-24-2014, 07:00 PM
WinTaper WinTaper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 130
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

the theory is CPU + DSP > CPU

its more about off-loading processor power than achieving low latency. the trip to and from the DSP precludes any low latency expectations.

-dan
__________________
Pro Tools 11.1.2 | Mac OSX 10.9.2
RME Ray-DAT | SSL Alpha-Link AX
Intel Core i7 990X @ 3.60GHz
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 rev 1.0
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-24-2014, 10:08 PM
treason treason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 233
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinTaper View Post
the theory is CPU + DSP > CPU

its more about off-loading processor power than achieving low latency. the trip to and from the DSP precludes any low latency expectations.

-dan
I think provided the latency is reasonable it precludes latency expectations. In this case, the latency induced is not reasonable.
__________________
T-
-----
Waterstreet Studio Main: MacPro 2012 (12C@3.46GHz), 48GB, Apple/Samsung SSDs, WD Blacks. macOS 13.3
DSP & IO : Pro Tools HDX2(2018.3), 2x UAD Octo, HDIO 16x16 Analog IO(3), HDIO 16x16 Digital IO
Plugins: Avid, DMG Audio, Kush, oeksound, P'n'T, Plugin Alliance, Softube, SoundTheory, Sonnox, Sound Radix, SoundToys, UAD, VEP, etc
Hardware: API, Chandler, Hardy, Moog, Neve, Shadow Hills, Smart, Summit, TC Electronic M6000, UREI, etc
Microphones: Telefunken, Neumann, Shure, AKG
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-24-2014, 11:38 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

Could be reduced? Should be reduced !!! - why the heck not - I don't have to track with them but - 20 of these plugs will eat a quad card and then some
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-26-2014, 08:58 PM
haima haima is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: PT11 - UAD2 problems

it would be awesome if UA could do something to reduce the buffer.

I was looking forward to not running out of ADC so often - moving from a TDM based system with 4000ish samples of ADC to HDN 11 with 16000ish samples of ADC.

I get 4 times the ADC time now, but the buffer is 4 times bigger when using UAD plugs - so it's pretty much moot a lot of the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bunch of Problems with new PT11 install lightningad1 Pro Tools 11 3 07-10-2015 09:23 AM
Why is there so many problems with PT11 chaudes Pro Tools 11 23 01-19-2014 06:19 PM
PT11.1 /UAD2 Satellite & Digi002Rack greenetunes Pro Tools 11 6 01-01-2014 08:31 PM
Problems with pt11 and plugins aax vinagrepuro Pro Tools 11 6 09-24-2013 01:21 AM
Problems with PT11 (and 10) and 003+ kfisher Pro Tools 11 0 06-23-2013 12:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com