Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #141  
Old 12-28-2011, 11:46 AM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

If this happens to anyone here you should try to track down the .dlog file that corresponds to the time of day that this happened and get it to CS (the modification date is updated when you quit Pro Tools). The .dlog file is in the user Library/Logs/AvidLogFiles folder.

FWIW when I did see this happen I could see it happen in Digibase when the record pass ended and the files populated their metadata - I'd see "unknown" for file type in the Workspace. The file will continue to "work" until you close the session, then you're in the market for Rail's app.

So I would suggest that after doing record passes (and BEFORE you close the session), take a quick look of all the new audio files in the Workspace and make sure no files are "unknown" type. If any of them are, it's possible you could pre-emptively fix this by doing a "copy and relink" of those files (just guessing).

I could never get a reliable reproducible case (that's the problem Avid is having) because we just reverted to Leopard on that system and stayed at PT 8.0.4/5 and we never saw it again.

dc
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 05-01-2012, 10:53 PM
jdtooley jdtooley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: boston
Posts: 1
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

..long time listener, first time caller...

just wanted to add a quick side note...for about a year now i've run into this dang corrupt audio file issue, but the WAVfixer program has worked perfectly EVERY time.. until this week.

long story short, noticed the audio file icon didn't revert to the old white 'itunes icon' as usual and PT still couldn't 'see' the file..still appeared in the workspace, same unique ID, etc... but for some reason the audio file had redefined itself at a sample rate of 48k (orig session at 88.2). turns out all i had to do was locate the file in the workspace and manually change the sample rate back to 88.2..done!
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 05-02-2012, 02:58 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdtooley View Post
just wanted to add a quick side note...for about a year now i've run into this dang corrupt audio file issue, but the WAVfixer program has worked perfectly EVERY time.. until this week.
Hello jd,
what version are you currently running?
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 05-10-2012, 06:36 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

BUMP.

I am using Pro Tools 9.0.5, Snow Lep, Mac Xeon with 12 gb Ram. I have never had this issue crop up until this week. So I've managed at least 1000 sessions on Pro Tools 9 without it happening. Absolutely nothing on my system has been changed (no new plugins, OS updates, etc). The last 3 days, each day, I lost 2-3 files to this bug. If not for Rail, I'd be dead in the water.

Is there any thing that seems to trigger/help this? Other than fixing files? I do daily system maintenance and trash databases/prefs a couple times a day. Has this been happening on 10? Obviously it happens on 8 and 9.

If anyone has any ideas, feel free to share. I've read a lot of these sorts of threads but most have died off. I figured either people have solved it or they just now live with it. I'm afraid I'm going to wake up and have lost a vocal by some guy who spent all day trying to get here. Not good for business.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 05-11-2012, 09:45 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

BUMP
has anyone found a way to have PT stop corrupting files?
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 05-15-2012, 06:26 AM
earthcorp earthcorp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 35
Thumbs up Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut View Post
It's fixed in PT10

To fix your files:

http://www.platinumsamples.com/WavFixer/WavFixer.php

Rail
works! thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 05-15-2012, 12:20 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
BUMP
has anyone found a way to have PT stop corrupting files?
Upgrade to PT10

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 05-18-2012, 11:18 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

glad 10 fixes it.

for now i am stuck on 9.

for what its worth, i ended up wiping then reinstalling PT9 again from the digi website and the corruption has stopped. Obviously my PT install developed a bug somewhere and reinstalling 2x fixed it.

b
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 06-14-2012, 07:50 PM
zzzykotik zzzykotik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle, WA, US
Posts: 1
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

Coming in *slightly* late to this thread, but anyway - we've been
having this problem on our HD system, on all versions of 8.0x we've tried;
we're up to 8.04 now, but the precise version doesn't seem to be the
problem. Before we discovered this thread, and Rail's heroic contribution,
the cheezy-eezy way we've been dealing with this is to always - ALWAYS -
check the Audio Files folder before closing any session, and if there are
bogus "iTunes" icons for any audio file, go back to the still-open session
and manually "Export As Files" the still-visible and -playable audio to a new folder,
then copy them from the new folder back into the original Audio Files folder,
answer "yes" when it whines about same-name-wanna-replace?, then
go ahead and close the session, leaving the copies in the new backup
folder just in case. It's an extra step that has saved much embarassment
around here. Thank engineer Tom Stiles at Jack Straw Productions for
this simple but clever innovation. Clearly, the problem occurs while the
file is being recorded, and has nothing to do with closing or opening session.
Oddly, the file is uncorrupted in the session, so "Export
As Files" writes the audio file with the correct icon, and a good header.
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 10-05-2012, 05:50 AM
haima haima is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: corrupt audio files PT 8.0.3

WOW. Rail Jon Rogut's WavFixer just made my week.

I thought I had lost a recording for good due to a corrupted wav file (recorded at a studio running PTHD 8.0.3 I guess - I didn't check....)

I had pretty much given up hope of fixing the file after trying various methods to recover the data... Then I found this thread - 5mins later I downloaded WavFixer, and it recovered the take in seconds!

AMAZING. What a major stress reliever. Thanks Rail Jon Rogut!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
corrupt audio files? active Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-12-2012 01:24 AM
corrupt audio files PT 9 Pro Logic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-16-2011 03:53 PM
Restore Corrupt Audio Files? U2502 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-24-2007 11:54 AM
Audio Files corrupt on FireWire drive sphereman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-21-2003 03:44 AM
corrupt audio files please help tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-05-2000 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com